3 Dec 2022

India-Bangladesh ODI Series: Mohammad Shami Injured, Will Not Play

New Delhi: Mohammad Shami will not be able to play in the ODI series against Bangladesh. The first match of the three ODI series in Bangladesh is to be held on Sunday, December 4. 

Shami is not fit for this due to injury. Shami was injured during a practice session after returning from the T20 World Cup in Australia last month.

After the ODI, Team India will also play a two-Test series against Bangladesh. Shami was also a part of the Test team. 

India will play 3 ODIs against Bangladesh on December 4, 7 and 10. After this the First Test Match will be held from 14-18 December and the Second Test Match from 22-26 December.

Umran Malik included

Whether he will be able to play Test after this injury or not is not clear at the moment. Umran Malik has been included in the team after Shami's exclusion. Umran recently made his ODI debut on the tour of New Zealand. He has taken three wickets in three ODIs.

Team India's problems have increased due to the injury of Mohammed Shami. Some media reports have said that he has been ruled out of the Test series along with the ODIs. 

Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja also out of the ODI series

India's premier fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah is already out of the series due to injury. He was also not a part of the team in the T20 World Cup. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja is also out of the ODI series due to injury.

Saini and Mukesh performed very well

Mukesh Kumar and Navdeep Saini may get a chance if Mohammed Shami is out of the Test series. Navdeep Saini and Mukesh Kumar are still in Bangladesh. They are members of Team India A that toured Bangladesh. Both have done exceptionally well in the four-day matches against the Bangladesh A team. 

Mukesh has taken three wickets. Whereas Navdeep Saini has taken four wickets. Mukesh is an uncapped player and Saini has played two Tests for India. At the same time, he was part of the Indian team that went on Australia tour in 2020-21.

Mohammed Shami's performance so far

Mohammed Shami has taken 216 wickets for India in 60 Test matches. While he has taken 151 wickets in 82 ODIs. At the same time, he has taken 24 wickets in 23 T20 matches.

Team India for ODI series in Bangladesh

Rohit Sharma (captain), Lokesh Rahul (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Shahbaz Ahmed, Akshar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Deepak Chahar and Kuldeep Sen.

No comments:

Post a Comment