10 Feb 2023

ICC Women's T20 World Cup From Today; Team India Vying For Their Maiden Title

The 8th edition of the ICC Women's T20 World Cup is going to start in South Africa from today. The first match will be played between host South Africa and Sri Lanka from 10:30 pm.  India will be eyeing their maiden Women's T20 World Cup title.

India's opening match with Pakistan on Feb 12

The tournament of 10 teams will run for 17 days. The Indian women's team will play its first match against arch rivals Pakistan on 12 February.
India's match with Pakistan will start at 6:30 pm in Cape Town. India will play against West Indies on February 15, England on February 18 and Ireland on February 20. All matches will start at 6:30 pm.

This time only 10 teams are participating in the tournament. Team India is in Group-2 with one-time champions England and West Indies. Pakistan and Ireland are also in this group. 

Captain Harmanpreet is an all rounder

The India Women's team has landed under the captaincy of Harmanpreet Kaur. Harmanpreet Kaur plays as an all-rounder for the Indian women's cricket team. She was awarded the Arjuna Award for Cricket in the year 2017 by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. 

In November 2018, she became the first woman for India to score a century in a Women's Twenty20 International (WT20I) match. In October 2019, during the series against South Africa, she became the first cricketer for India, male or female, to play in 100 international Twenty20 matches.

India a strong contender for title

Team India played the last tournament in 2020 under the captaincy of Harmanpreet. Then the team reached the finals, but could not win the title after losing to Australia. Under the captaincy of Harmanpreet, the team also played the final of the Birmingham Commonwealth Games last months. In such a situation, the team is also being considered as a strong contender to win the title this time.

Defending champion Australia in Group-1

At the same time, the defending champion Australia team is in Group-1 along with Bangladesh, New Zealand, South Africa and Sri Lanka. Australia's supremacy is such that it has won title for five times in the seven editions of the cup so far.

Till February 21, 20 group stage matches will be played among 10 teams. Some of the group stage matches will start at 6:30 pm and some at 10:30 pm.

Semifinals on Feb 23, 24, final on Feb 26

The top-2 teams of both the groups will reach the semi-finals. The semi-finals will be held on February 23 and 24 and the title clash on February 26 at the Newlands Ground in Cape Town. All knockout matches will start at 6:30 pm.

No comments:

Post a Comment