12 Feb 2023

Resignation of Bhagat Singh Koshyari accepted, Ramesh Bais new Governor of Maharashtra, Biswa Bhushan Harichandan new Governor of Chhattisgarh

New Delhi: With President Draupadi Murmu accepting the resignation of Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari, there has been a major reshuffle in 13 states and union territories. New Governors and Lieutenant Governors have been appointed in 13 states including Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Himachal.

Bhagat Singh Koshyari had written a letter to Amit Shah in November last year expressing his desire to resign from his post.

President Droupadi Murmu has accepted the resignation of two governors. In which apart from Bhagat Singh Koshyari, the name of Ladakh's Deputy Governor Radhakrishna Mathur is also included.

Appointment of new governors and lieutenant governors

Ramesh Bais — Maharashtra

Biswa Bhushan Harichandan—Chhattisgarh

Anusuiya Uike — Manipur

La Ganesan — Nagaland

Gulabchand Kataria—Assam

Lieutenant General Kaiwalya Trivikram Parnaik—Arunachal Pradesh

CP Radhakrishnan — Jharkhand

Shiv Pratap Shukla — Himachal Pradesh

Dr. BD Mishra—Lt. Governor of Ladakh

Justice (Retd) S Abdul Nazeer—Andhra Pradesh

Fagu Chauhan — Meghalaya

Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar – Bihar

Koshyari was in controversy after his statement on Shivaji

Former Governor of Maharashtra Bhagat Singh Koshyari, who was in controversy over his statement on Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj. He wrote a letter to Home Minister Amit Shah on December 6 seeking guidance. He had asked the Home Minister whether he wanted to continue on this post or not.

Koshyari had called Shivaji an icon of the old days at a university program in Aurangabad on 19 November. Along with Koshyari, Union minister and BJP leader Nitin Gadkari and NCP chief Sharad Pawar were also present at the event.

Governors of 9 poll bound states changed

This year there are assembly elections in 9 states of the country. Of these, the election process has started in the four northeastern states of Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland and Mizoram. 

At the same time, elections are to be held in November in the three big Hindi belt states of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh. Karnataka and Telangana in South also have elections this year. The Lieutenant Governor (LG) has been appointed in Ladakh, which was carved out of Jammu and Kashmir as a Union Territory (UT).

No comments:

Post a Comment