22 Mar 2023

Karnataka Elections 2023: Congress Postpones Announcement Of First List; Siddaramaiah Yet To Finalize His Constituency

Bengaluru: The much-awaited first list of Karnataka Congress candidates for the forthcoming Karnataka Elections 2023 is unlikely to be released on Wednesday, the day of Ugadi festival. 

Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee president DK Shivakumar said in Bengaluru on Wednesday that the party could declare the candidates in the next one or two days.

Assembly elections in Karnataka can be announced anytime. The political parties have intensified the brainstorming on the names of the candidates. The Central Election Committee of the Congress has finalized the list of 125 candidates. 

Former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah had earlier said that the first list of over 125 seats would be announced on March 22.

Siddaramaiah yet to finalise his constituency

According to Congress sources, the announcement has been delayed as Siddaramaiah is yet to finalise his constituency.

In January, Siddaramaiah had announced that he would contest from Kolar, but after the Congress Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting in Delhi, the former CM is reconsidering his decision.

Siddaramaiah on Tuesday said that Rahul Gandhi has asked him not to take even 1 per cent of the chance and has left a decision on him to choose the constituency.

Party would release the first list soon

Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee president DK Shivakumar Shivakumar said that the party would release the first list soon. He said the party had planned to release the first list on 22 March on Ugadi festival. 

Shivkumar said, “Our general secretary is also in Bengaluru and AICC president has also come to the city for the festival. We will release the list in a day or two.”

Congress was going to release the list of 125 candidates on the occasion of Ugadi festival. On Wednesday, March 22, on the occasion of Ugadi festival, Congress had planned to release the first list. 

The names of 125 candidates out of 224 constituencies have been finalized after a long discussion in the Central Election Committee meeting held in New Delhi recently under the chairmanship of AICC President Mallikarjun Kharge. 

After the meeting on candidate selection, the Congress party had tweeted that the selection of 125 candidates had been finalized and the list could be released anytime.

AAP's 80 candidates announced

On the other hand, the first list of its candidates for the Karnataka Assembly elections has been released by the Aam Aadmi Party on Monday. The party has given assembly tickets to 80 candidates in the first list. The party will soon decide candidates for the remaining seats as well. AAP will field candidates in all 224 assembly constituencies of Karnataka.

In the first list of AAP, Supreme Court lawyer Brijesh Kalappa has been given ticket from Chickpet assembly seat. Former Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike official K Mathai has been fielded from Shanti Nagar, BT Naganna from Rajajinagar, Mohan Dasari from CV Raman Nagar, Shanthala Damle from Mahalakshmi Layout and Ajay Gowda from Padmanabhanagar. 

Party's Karnataka state chief Prithvi Reddy says these candidates represent different sections of the society. The average age of our candidate list is only 46 years. More than 50% of our candidates are below 45 years of age.

No comments:

Post a Comment