20 May 2023

Oath Taking In Karnataka Today: DK Shivakumar, Siddaramaiah Discuss Modalities Of Cabinet Formation With Party Leadership; Some Names Of Ministers Shortlisted

Bengaluru: The day has finally arrived in Karnataka for which Siddaramaiah was waiting since May 13. Yes, today Karnataka is going to get its new Chief Minister. Siddaramaiah will take oath as the chief minister of the state for the second time on Saturday, exactly a week after his victory in the assembly elections. 

DK Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah are understood to have discussed the modalities of cabinet formation in the state with the party leadership in Delhi and are learnt to have shortlisted some names of ministers and their portfolios.

Along with this, Congress State President DK Shivakumar will be administered the oath of Deputy CM. The oath taking ceremony will take place at Shri Kanteerava Stadium. The preparations were reviewed by Shivkumar himself. Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the CM, Deputy CM and their cabinet at 12:30 pm at the Kanteerava Stadium. 

Siddaramaiah took oath as the chief minister for the first time in 2013 in this stadium. Congress President M. Mallikarjun Kharge has invited leaders of several like-minded parties for the oath-taking ceremony.

Challenge before Siddaramaiah

The first challenge that Siddaramaiah is expected to face is putting in place a cabinet with the right combinations that will strike a balance in having representatives from all communities, regions, factions and also from among the old and new generation of legislators.

With the sanctioned strength of the Karnataka cabinet being 34, there are too many aspirants for ministerial berths.

Shivakumar said the voice of the people will be the voice of the government of Karnataka. He said, "All our national leaders are coming for the swearing-in ceremony. On the first day, in the first cabinet, we will implement all our 'guarantees', we will keep up our promise."

Several national leaders have been invited for the swearing-in ceremony and most of them are coming, he said.

Shivakumar also invited leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party and Janata Dal-Secular for the event, stating that as public representatives, they too are part of the government machinery.

Earlier, the deputy CM-designate also visited Kanteerava Stadium, the venue of the ceremony and inspected the preparations there.

Cong has promised to implement guarantees

The Congress has promised to implement "guarantees" like 200 units of free power to all households (Gruha Jyoti), Rs 2,000 monthly assistance to the woman head of every family (Gruha Lakshmi), 10 kg of rice free to every member of a BPL household (Anna Bhagya), Rs 3,000 every month for graduate youth and Rs 1,500 for diploma holders (both in the age group of 18-25) for two years (YuvaNidhi), and free travel for women in public transport buses (Shakti), on the first day of assuming power in the state.

No comments:

Post a Comment