30 Sept 2023

ODI World Cup 2023: Team India Reach Guwahati Via Charter Flight For Warm-Up Match With England

The warm-up matches continues before the ODI World Cup 2023. 2 matches will be played on Saturday. India and England will face each other in Guwahati, while Netherlands will face Australia in Thiruvananthapuram.

The match between India and England will start at 2:00 pm. The toss will take place half an hour earlier i.e. at 1:30 pm

India arrived from Rajkot, via a charter flight, late on Thursday and had an optional training session on Friday afternoon, attended by four players - Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, R Ashwin and Shardul Thakur.

England spent 38 hours travelling from London to Guwahati 

England weren't as lucky and spent nearly 38 hours on the road, travelling from London to Guwahati with long layovers in Dubai and Mumbai.

England can draw some comfort from the fact that they will stay put in Guwahati for both their warm-up games, unlike India, who will travel down south to Thiruvananthapuram for their second warm-up on October 2 against Netherlands.

There have been 106 ODI matches between India and England so far. India won 57 matches and England won 44 matches. 3 matches were no result and 2 were tied, however, warm-up matches do not count in the record books, so the result of this match will not change any head-to-head records.

Shubman Gill in great form

Indian opener Shubman Gill is in great form. Gill has been the top scorer for India in ODI cricket in 2023. About bowling, Kuldeep Yadav is the top wicket taker.

David Malan has scored the most runs for England this year. Adil Rashid has performed brilliantly in bowling.

Guwahati will remain cloudy on Saturday. There is a 40% chance of rain. The temperature can range from 25 to 34 degrees Celsius.

Squads of both teams

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Mohammed Shami.

England: Jos Buttler (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Dawid Malan, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Gus Atkinson, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley and Mark Wood.

No comments:

Post a Comment