27 Mar 2024

Lok Sabha Election 2024: Grand Alliance Finalizes Seat Allocation in Bihar, Crucial Meeting in Delhi Today

Lok Sabha Election 2024: The Grand Alliance or Mahagathbandhan in Bihar has reached a consensus regarding the distribution of the state's 40 Lok Sabha seats. Insider information reveals that under the agreement, Lalu Yadav's Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) will vie for 26 seats, the Congress for 9 seats, and the Left parties, with the CPIML leading, will compete for five seats, three of which will be contested by CPIML.

A decisive meeting is scheduled to be held in Delhi today on 27 March to finalize the constituency allocation. Following this, an official announcement will be made from Patna, according to sources.

Crucial leaders from all participating parties are expected to attend the Delhi meeting today. Sources suggest the likely presence of Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge and members of the Gandhi family.

In the 2019 elections, the Congress contested nine seats but only secured victory in one. Meanwhile, the RJD failed to secure any seats. The NDA emerged victorious in 39 out of 40 seats, with the BJP winning 17. Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal United (JDU) fell behind by just one seat, and Chirag Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party secured all six it contested.

This time, Nitish Kumar has returned to the NDA after a brief stint with the Grand Alliance. Additionally, the BJP has chosen to retain Chirag Paswan, despite the division within his party and their initial support for his rebel uncle, Pashupati Paras.

Given the impending deadline for the first phase of nominations in Bihar, ending on Thursday due to an extended government holiday for Holi, the announcement must be made promptly.

Last week, the NDA officially disclosed its seat allocation in Bihar, with the BJP leading by contesting 17 seats. Nitish Kumar's JD(U), once the dominant force in the alliance, will now vie for 16 seats. The Lok Janshakti Party will compete in five seats, while Jitan Ram Manjhi's Hindustan Awam Morcha and Upendra Kushwaha's RLM will each contest one seat.

No comments:

Post a Comment