13 Mar 2024

Lok Sabha elections-2024: ML Khattar, Nitin Gadkari, Piyush Goyal in BJP's second list

Nitin Gadkari, ML Khattar, and Piyush Goyal figure in BJP's second list for upcoming Lok Sabha elections-2024. The list, comprising 72 names, faced some last-minute complications regarding one seat each in Bihar. 

Among the candidates are seasoned politicians, including Union ministers Nitin Gadkari, Piyush Goyal, and Anurag Singh Thakur. Notably, Manohar Lal Khattar, recently relieved of his position as Haryana Chief Minister, is a new addition. Former Chief Ministers Trivendra Singh Rawat and Basavaraj Bommai are also part of the lineup.

An eleventh-hour negotiation reportedly occurred over a Bihar seat. The distribution includes candidates for various states, such as Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Telangana, Tripura, and Uttarakhand. Additionally, candidates have been declared for Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

In Delhi, two fresh faces, Harsh Malhotra and Yogendra Chandolia, will represent East Delhi and North West Delhi, respectively.

10 new faces fielded in Karnataka

The Karnataka segment showcases approximately 10 new faces, with Union minister Pralhad Joshi contesting from Dharwad and BY Raghavendra, son of former Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa, from Shimoga. Tejasvi Surya, BJP's youth wing chief, seeks re-election in Bengaluru South, while Yaduveer Krishnadatta Wadiyar replaces Pratap Simha as the Mysore candidate.

BJP's chief spokesperson and Rajya Sabha member Anil Baluni has been nominated from Garhwal in Uttarakhand.

Earlier this month, the BJP unveiled its first list, featuring over 190 candidates for the imminent Lok Sabha polls set for this summer.

No comments:

Post a Comment