29 Mar 2024

Mahagathbandhan Alliance Reveals Bihar Seat-Sharing Plan for Lok Sabha Election 2024; Cong Will Contest On So Many Seats

Ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha Election, the Mahagathbandhan, or Grand Alliance, disclosed its seat-sharing arrangement for Bihar, designating 26 out of the state's 40 Lok Sabha seats to the RJD. The Congress will field candidates in nine seats, while the Left parties have been allocated five seats.

The Congress has secured Katihar, Kishanganj, Patna Sahib, Sasaram, Bhagalpur, West Champaran, Muzaffarpur, Samastipur, and Maharajganj seats. The Left will contest from Begusarai, Khagaria, Aarh, Karakat, and Nalanda. The remaining 26 seats will be contested by the RJD.

The allocation of the Purnia seat to the RJD posed a significant challenge as Pappu Yadav will now miss the opportunity to contest the election. Bima Bharti, who transitioned from JDU to RJD, will be the Grand Alliance candidate for this seat.

The Lok Sabha elections for Bihar's 40 seats will take place in seven phases on April 19, 26, May 7, 13, 20, 25, and June 1, with vote counting scheduled for June 4.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, the Congress secured only one seat, while the RJD and Left parties failed to win any. The NDA alliance, comprising BJP and Janata Dal (United), emerged victorious, securing 17 and 16 seats, respectively.

The BJP attained a vote share of 24.1%, while the JD(U) secured 22.3%. The undivided LJP won six seats with an 8% vote share, whereas the Congress managed a vote share of 7.9%.

Meanwhile, within the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA), the BJP is slated to contest 17 seats, and the JD(U) will contest 16. The Hindustani Aawam Morcha (HAM) led by Jitan Ram Manjhi and Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) will each contest one seat. The Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas), led by Chirag Paswan, will contest five seats.

No comments:

Post a Comment