19 Apr 2024

Lok Sabha Election-2024: Highest voting in W Bengal, lowest in Bihar; fate of 8 Union ministers, two former CMs sealed in EVMs

Lok Sabha polls 2024 began today. In the first of the 7-phase exercise, voting is being held in 102 seats across 21 states and Union Territories.

Amid tight security arrangements, an average of about 60 percent voting was recorded by 5 p.m. in the first phase of Lok Sabha elections 2024 on Friday on 102 seats in 21 states and union territories.

According to information released by the Election Commission, the highest 77.57 percent voting was recorded in West Bengal by 5 p.m. and the lowest 46.32 percent in Bihar.

Stone pelting in Chandamari area of Cooch Behar

During the first phase of Lok Sabha elections, there were reports of EVM malfunction at many places, while a case of stone pelting during voting has also come to light in Cooch Behar, West Bengal. A BJP worker has been injured in stone pelting. After which the rhetoric between BJP and TMC intensified.

RSS chief Dr. Mohan Bhagwat cast his vote in Nagpur, Maharashtra. After casting his vote in the first phase, he came out of the polling booth showing his inked finger.

Number of key leaders are in the fray

Eight Union ministers, two former chief ministers, one former governor and a number of key leaders are in the fray today, making for scintillating contests in more than 20 seats. Among them are Union ministers Nitin Gadkari, Jitendra Singh, Kiren Rijiju, Arjun Ram Meghwal, Sanjiv Balyan, former Telangana governor Tamilisai Soundararajan, Congress's Deputy Leader in the Lok Sabha Gaurav Gogoi and former Chief Minister of Assam Sarbananda Sonowal. The counting of votes will take place on June 4.

No comments:

Post a Comment