25 May 2024

Lok Sabha Election 2024: Voting begins on 58 seats in sixth phase; why all eyes are on these major candidates of penultimate round

In the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections, voting has started on Saturday for 58 seats in eight states including one Union Territory.

In these eight states, voting is taking place on all seven seats of Delhi and all 10 seats of Haryana.
Apart from this, voting is being held on eight seats in Bihar, one seat in Jammu and Kashmir, four seats in Jharkhand, six seats in Odisha, 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh and eight seats in West Bengal.

Along with the Lok Sabha, elections are also being held for the Assembly in Odisha. Elections are also being held on 42 seats in Odisha on Saturday.

Sambit Patra

Sambit Patra is a vocal spokesperson of BJP. He comes from Odisha and is contesting from Puri parliamentary seat on BJP ticket.

Recently, his remarks on Lord Jagannath had created controversy, for which he had apologized by writing a post on social media.

He had said that 'Lord Jagannath is a devotee of PM Modi.'

Dharmendra Pradhan

BJP leader and Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan is contesting the elections from Sambalpur seat of Odisha on BJP ticket.

During his election campaign, Dharmendra Pradhan said that BJP is going to form the government in Odisha.

Mehbooba Mufti

PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti is contesting from Anantnag Rajouri seat of Jammu and Kashmir. But despite being in the opposition India Alliance, the National Conference has also fielded its candidate.

National Conference has fielded Mia Altaf from here.

Maneka Gandhi

Former Union Minister Maneka Gandhi is contesting again from Sultanpur seat of Uttar Pradesh. This time BJP has not given ticket to his son Varun Gandhi.

After staying away from election campaign for a few days, Varun has started campaigning for his mother.

Manohar Lal Khattar

BJP has fielded former Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar from Karnal seat of Haryana.

Due to the current farmers' movement, BJP is facing opposition in the areas adjoining Punjab and Khattar is also facing this challenge.

Battle for Delhi

There is an alliance between Aam Aadmi Party and Congress in Delhi. Here Aam Aadmi Party is contesting on four seats and Congress on three seats.

Bansuri Swaraj, daughter of former Union Minister Sushma Swaraj, is in the fray from New Delhi. She is contesting elections for the first time. She is lawyer by profession.

Somnath Bharti is a leader of Aam Aadmi Party and has been a three-time MLA from Malviya Nagar assembly constituency of New Delhi Lok Sabha seat.

Current BJP MP and Bhojpuri singer Manoj Tiwari and Congress candidate Kanhaiya Kumar, former president of JNU Students Union, are face to face from North Eastern Lok Sabha seat.

Azamgarh seat in UP

Azamgarh is one of the famous seats of Uttar Pradesh, which has been considered the stronghold of Samajwadi Party, but in the by-election held after Akhilesh Yadav vacated the seat, BJP candidate Dinesh Lal Yadav alias Nirahua, a member of Mulayam Singh family, won against Dharmendra Yadav. This time also Dharmendra Yadav is in the field.

Former Justice Abhijit Gangopadhyay from W Bengal

Justice Abhijit Gangopadhyay of Calcutta High Court had resigned in March and joined BJP and the party has made him its candidate from Tamluk.

Naveen Jindal

Naveen Jindal, an industrialist and Congress MP, had recently switched sides and joined BJP and within a few hours BJP declared him as its candidate from Kurukshetra.

Apart from these, names like Raj Babbar, Deependra Singh Hooda, Kumari Selja and Aparajita Sarangi are prominent in the race for the sixth phase.

No comments:

Post a Comment