5 May 2024

MP Lok Sabha Election 2024: Cong Bina MLA Nirmala Sapre Said This After Shifting to BJP; Becomes Third Opposition MLA to Defect Since Poll Declaration

MP Lok Sabha Election 2024: Nirmala Sapre, the Congress MLA representing Bina assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh, officially joined the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday.

Sapre's move marks the third instance of a legislator switching allegiance from the Congress to the BJP since the initiation of the model code of conduct following the announcement of Lok Sabha polls in March.

In the presence of Chief Minister Mohan Yadav, Sapre made her transition to the BJP during a public gathering held at Rahatgarh in Sagar district.

Addressing the media afterward, Sapre said unfulfiiled commitments to her constituents was a driving factor behind her decision. She emphasized the BJP's developmental agenda, contrasting it with what she described as the Congress's lack thereof.

"Prime Minister Modi and Chief Minister Mohan Yadav are committed to development. By aligning with them, I embrace the path of progress. The Congress, in contrast, lacks a coherent developmental vision and offers no prospects for the future," she asserted.

The Election Commission had announced the schedule for Lok Sabha polls on March 16.

Prior to Sapre's defection, MLA Kamlesh Shah from Amarwara in Chhindwara district left the Congress to join the BJP on March 29. Subsequently, on April 30, MLA Ramniwas Rawat also departed from the Congress ranks to join the BJP.

No comments:

Post a Comment