4 Dec 2022

Gujarat Assembly Election 2022 Phase 2: Fate of Many Key Candidates Will Be Sealed On Monday


Gujarat Assembly Election 2022: Voting will be held on Monday in 93 assembly seats across 14 central and northern districts of Gujarat during the second phase of the state polls. The high-voltage campaigning by different parties for the second phase of polls ended on Saturday evening. A total 2.51 crore voters will exercise their franchise for the second phase of elections.

The Gujarat assembly has a total of 182 seats. The first phase of voting for 89 seats in Saurashtra, Kutch and south Gujarat regions was held on December 1.
In the second phase, voting will be held in the remaining 93 seats, for which 833 candidates are in the fray from 61 political parties, including the BJP, Congress and the new poll entrant Aam Aadmi Party. The 93 assembly seats are spread across Ahmedabad, Vadodara, Gandhinagar and other districts.
The nominees also include 285 independents.
The BJP and the Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP are contesting in all the 93 seats. The Congress is contesting in 90 seats and its alliance partner Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has fielded candidates in two seats.
Among other parties, the Bharatiya Tribal Party has fielded 12 candidates and the Bahujan Samaj Party 44.
Key candidates in second phase: Some of the important constituencies in the second phase include Ghatlodia (in Ahmedabad district) of Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel, Viramgam seat (also in Ahmedabad) from where Patidar leader Hardik Patel is fighting on the BJP's ticket and Gandhinagar South from where Alpesh Thakor is fighting as the saffron party candidate.
Jignesh Mevani contesting as Cong candidate from Vadgam: Besides, Dalit leader Jignesh Mevani is contesting as the Congress candidate from Vadgam seat in Banaskantha district, and Leader of Opposition in the Gujarat Assembly Sukhram Rathva is the nominee from Jetpur in Chhota Udepur district.
BJP rebel contesting as independent from Vaghodia: BJP rebel Madhu Shrivastav is contesting as an independent candidate from Vaghodia seat in Vadodara district.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi conducted a whirlwind campaign for the BJP candidates on December 1 and 2, including two back-to-back road shows in Ahmedabad.
During the last leg of the campaign, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath held rallies in Dholka, Mahudha and Khambhat towns, while Union minister Smriti Irani held roadshows in Modasa and Siddhpur towns of north Gujarat.
AAP leader and Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann also held road shows for the second phase of elections.

No comments:

Post a Comment