28 Dec 2022

Hardik Pandya To Lead Team India For T-20 Against Sri Lanka; See Which Players Get Place In The Squad

Mumbai: Team India has been announced for the ODI and T-20 home series against Sri Lanka. Hardik Pandya has been made the captain of the T-20 team in place of Rohit Sharma. 

Rohit will be captain for ODI: Rohit, KL Rahul and Virat Kohli have been rested and will not play in T-20. However, both of them are part of the ODI team. 

While Rohit, recuperating from a finger injury was named captain of the ODI series which follows the T20Is, it is clear that the shortest format will feature fresh faces and primarily IPL performers.

There have also been some surprising decisions in the T20 team, where Suryakumar Yadav has been rewarded for his performance and has been appointed as the vice-captain. While Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar got a place in Team India.

Shikhar Dhawan axed: Shikhar Dhawan has not been included in the team. Shubman Gill has been given attention in his place.

Shivam Mavi gets a chance: Shivam Mavi has been given a chance in the T-20 team. The right-arm fast bowling all-rounder has bowled brilliantly in domestic cricket. He has taken 19 wickets in the last 5 home matches. These include two Ranji and three List A matches.

Return of Mohammed Shami: Fast bowler Mohammed Shami has returned to the ODI team. He was part of the team against Bangladesh but got injured during a net session.

Sri Lankan team is coming on India tour in January. It has to play a series of three T20 and three ODIs here. The first T-20 match will be held on 3 January 2023 in Mumbai. After that matches will be played in Pune on 5th January and Rajkot on 7th January. 

The first ODI will be played in Guwahati on 10 January. After that there will be matches in Kolkata on January 12 and Trivandrum on January 15.

Team India for T20 series:

Hardik Pandya (Captain), Suryakumar Yadav (Vice-Captain), Ishan Kishan, Rituraj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar

No comments:

Post a Comment