14 Feb 2023

Women's Premier League Schedule Announced; 23-day League Begins From March 4

Mumbai:  The schedule of the Women's Premier League (WPL) has been announced. BCCI released the fixture on Tuesday. The 23-day league will begin on March 4 with a Gujarat-Mumbai match at the DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai. While the final match will be played on March 26 at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai. The entire league will be played in these two stadiums.

The inaugural WPL edition will be staged entirely in Mumbai, with DY Patil Stadium and Brabourne Stadium serving as the two venues. The season will feature 22 games – 20 in the league phase, a one-off eliminator and the final, which will be held at the Brabourne Stadium.

There will be 20 league matches, 2 play offs and a final

5 teams will play 23 matches in 23 days. There will be 20 league matches, 2 play offs and a final. Four double decker matches will be played in the first season. 5 teams are participating in the first season of the league. These include Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore and UP Warriors.

Bangalore Team to face Delhi in opening match

The first double decker of WPL will be on March 5. On this day, the Royal Challengers Bangalore team will face the Delhi Capitals at the Brabourne Stadium.
On the other hand, UP Warriors will lock horns with Gujarat Giants at the DY Patil Stadium. The first match of double decker will be from 3:30 pm. While the second will be played from 7:30 pm.
All the evening matches will start at 7:30 pm. The last match of the league stage will be played in Brabourne after Delhi and UP. After that the eliminator will be played on 24th March.
A day earlier on Monday, the players' auction took place at the Jio Convention Center in Mumbai. India's vice-captain and top order batsman Smriti Mandhana was the most expensive in this auction which lasted for about 6 hours. She was bought by Royal Challengers Bangalore for Rs 3.40 crore..

No comments:

Post a Comment