25 Mar 2023

Karnataka Elections 2023: Congress Announces 124 Candidates, Fields Kharge's Son; BJP Govt Scraps 4 Percent Quota To Minorities

Bengaluru: Congress has released its list of 124 candidates for the Karnataka Assembly elections. In the list released on Saturday, Siddaramaiah will contest from Varuna and DK Shivakumar has been fielded from Kanakapura. 

Rejecting BJP's allegations of nepotism in the party, the Congress has also fielded president Mallikarjun Kharge's son Priyank from Chitapur. 

Apart from this, MB Patil got Congress ticket from Babaleshwar, Dinesh Gundurao from Gandhinagar, MLC Puttanna, who left BJP and joined Congress, from Rajajinagar and former Union Minister KH Muniyappa from Devanahalli. 

The Congress is the first party to release its candidates' list for the elections in Karnataka.

The Election Commission is yet to announce the schedule for assembly polls in Karnataka. Assembly polls in the state are slated before May when the tenure of the current assembly ends. The Congress is seeking to wrest power from the Bharatiya Janata Party in the state.

Govt scraps 4 percent quota to minorities

The Karnataka government has scrapped the four per cent quota for minorities and added it to the existing quota of two dominant communities.

The 4 per cent reservation given to Muslims under will now be divided into two equal parts and added to the existing quota of Vokkaligas and Lingayats for whom two new reservation categories were created during the Belagavi assembly session last year. The cabinet decided to bring the religious minorities under the EWS category.

No comments:

Post a Comment