4 Mar 2023

WPL 2023: Bollywood Stars To Perform In Opening Cerenony; Close Fight Likely Between Mumbai Indians And Gujarat Giants


Mumbai: The first season of the historic Women's Premier League 2023 (WPL 2023) begins today. The first match will be played between Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Giants at DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai from 8 pm. 

Before that, the opening ceremony will also start at DY Patil Stadium from 6:25 pm. Many Bollywood stars will be seen performing in the opening ceremony.

This is the first season of WPL. In the opening ceremony, Bollywood actresses Kriti Sanon and Kiara Advani will be seen performing. Well-known singer AP Dhillon will present WPL Anthem. Captains of all teams will be present.

Apart from these, the trailer of WPL's anthem 'Yeh To Bas Bharti Hai' has been released. 6 singers including Shankar Mahadevan, Harshdeep Kaur and Neeti Mohan will release the full anthem during the opening ceremony itself.

5 best teams will compete

Some of the best players in the world are involved in WPL. Five teams will compete for the title. During this, there will be 22 matches including championship and knock-out matches. Day-night scheduling has been decided for all the games. 

The competition features some of the most celebrated women cricketers including Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur and Ellyse Perry. The competition is expected to be thrilling.

Gujarat Giants suffered setback 

Ahead of their first match against Mumbai Indians, Gujarat Giants have suffered a major setback. West Indies batswoman Deandra Dottin has been ruled out of the tournament due to a medical problem. Dottin has scored 2697 runs in 127 T20 Internationals. However, the Gujarat team management has replaced her with Australian all-rounder Kim Garth.

The first match of the evening between Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Titans is expected to be an intense one. Mumbai boasts of captain Harmanpreet Kaur as well as strong players like Hayley Mathews and Natalie Sciver. 

At the same time, the Australian wicket-keeper batswoman Beth Mooney is handling the command of the Gujarat team. Along with them, big players like Sneh Rana, Harleen Deol and Ashley Gardner will also play in the Gujarat team. In such a situation, this first match of WPL is expected to be very thorny.

Mumbai Indians team

Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Natalie Sciver, Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Yastika Bhatia, Heather Graham, Isabel Wong, Amanjot Kaur, Dhara Gujar, Sayka Ishaq, Hayley Mathews, Chloe Tryon, Humaira Khaji, Priyanka Bala, Sonam Yadav, Jintimani Kalita, Neelam Bisht.

Gujrat Giants team

Beth Mooney (captain), Sneh Rana, Ashleigh Gardner, Sophia Dunkley, Annabel Sutherland, Harleen Deol, Kim Garth, Sabineni Meghna, Georgia Wareham, Manasi Joshi, Dayalan Hemlata, Monica Patel, Tanuja Kanwar, Sushma Verma, Hurley Gala , Ashwini Kumari, Parunika Sisodia, Shabman Shakeel.

No comments:

Post a Comment