10 Apr 2023

UP Civic Body Elections: Politics Intensifies After Announcement Of Dates, CM Yogi Calls Meeting, Tickets Of BJP's 11 Mayors In Danger

LUCKNOW: With the announcement of the dates of municipal elections, the activism of political parties has increased. CM Yogi Adityanath has called a meeting with the ministers to discuss further strategy. This time the urban body elections will be held in two phases. Polling will be held in the first phase on May 4 and in the second phase on May 11. The results will be revealed on May 13.


CM Yogi Adityanath is going to hold a meeting on Monday evening. The ministers will be told how the welfare schemes and work of the state government should be communicated to the public while following the code of conduct. Apart from both Deputy CMsBrijesh Pathak and Keshav Prasad Maurya, all other cabinet ministers, ministers of state with independent charge and ministers of state will be involved in the meeting with the CM.


11 out of 14 mayors will not get ticket

BJP has also started brainstorming on the names of the mayoral candidates of the party. If party sources are to be believed, tickets of 11 out of 14 mayoral candidates, including Lucknow, will be cut. It is said that churning is being done at the BJP headquarters on the report card of the current mayors. 

While BJP has decided to change 11 of its 14 mayoral candidates, BJP's maths for the mayor has been spoiled due to the reservation of seats in some places. On the other hand, in some places, the age of the mayor's candidate and the report card of the mayor could lead to the cutting of the ticket. There are only three mayors who can be fielded again. 


Election of 17 mayors and 1420 councilors

According to the instructions given by the Election Commission, elections will be held on a total of 14,684 seats in the municipal bodies of Uttar Pradesh. Apart from this, the election of 17 mayors and 1420 councilors of the state will be done through EVMs. 

While voting will be done on the posts of Municipal Corporation and Nagar Panchayat through ballot paper. The Election Commission has instructed to arrange additional police force at sensitive places. Along with the Chairman of Municipal Council, voting will be held on 199 posts of Municipality and Nagar Panchayat including 5327 members through ballot paper.


When and where will the polling be held


Voting will be held in 9 districts of Uttar Pradesh on May 4. This includes Lucknow, Gorakhpur, Saharanpur, Agra, Moradabad, Jhansi, Devipatan, Prayagraj, Varanasi division. Voting will be held on May 11 in remaining 9 districts Kanpur, Bareilly, Meerut, Aligarh, Chitrakoot, Basti, Ayodhya, Azamgarh and Mirzapur Division. The UP government had already issued a notification regarding reservation in body elections. In which information about reserved and unreserved seats was given. 

A petition was filed in the Supreme Court over the dispute regarding reservation. The reservation list of the government was challenged. The committee was formed on the instructions of the Supreme Court on this issue. After this the election dates were announced following the implementation of OBC reservation.

No comments:

Post a Comment