3 Jun 2023

WTC Final: Virat Kohli And Steve Smith Will Vie To Surpass This Record Of Ricky Ponting And Gavaskar In Final Of World Test Championship

IPL 2023 is over. Now the eyes of all cricket fans are on the final match of the World Test Championship (WTC). The final of the World Test Championship is to be played between India and Australia. The match will be played at the Oval ground in London from June 7. Both the teams will be eyeing the title.

While the Indian team would like to end the 10 year old ICC trophy drought, Australia would like to add the Test Championship trophy to its cabinet. However, apart from the excitement of the final match, everyone's eyes will be on two top players of the two teams: Virat Kohli and Steve Smith. Along with the final, there is going to be a battle for breaking a record. Let us tell you about that record.

What is this record?

Virat and Smith will play to break the record of scoring the most centuries in Test matches played between India and Australia. Virat and Smith have scored 8 centuries each against Australia and India respectively. Both players are at second place along with Ricky Ponting and Sunil Gavaskar in terms of scoring centuries. Gavaskar and Ponting have also scored 8 centuries each against Australia and India in test matches.

Now it will be interesting to see which of these two players will break this record first. Currently, Sachin Tendulkar holds the record for scoring the maximum number of centuries in Test matches played between India and Australia. Sachin has scored 11 centuries in Test matches against Australia.

Batsmen with most centuries in India-Australia matches

Sachin Tendulkar - 11 centuries - 39 matches

Steve Smith - 8 centuries - 18 matches

Sunil Gavaskar - 8 centuries - 20 matches

Virat Kohli - 8 centuries - 24 matches

Ricky Ponting - 8 centuries - 29 matches

Final teams

India - Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat

Australia - Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner.

No comments:

Post a Comment