21 Aug 2023

Asia Cup 2023 Team India Announced: KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer Return; Chahal Dropped; These Are Other Players In Team

The BCCI announced Team India on Monday for the Asia Cup-2023. Spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has been left out of the Asia Cup squad. Wicketkeeper KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer have returned to Team India. 

Sanju Samson will go to Sri Lanka as the backup wicketkeeper. The BCCI gave the information about the team in the press conference on Monday afternoon in New Delhi.

The Asia Cup is to be played in Pakistan and Sri Lanka from 30 August. India's first match will be against Pakistan on 2 September. There can be three matches between India and Pakistan in this tournament.

Shubman Gill, Rohit Sharma dropped

Among the young players, Ishaan Kishan was selected in the team as a wicketkeeper. Rahul is also in the team. Shubman Gill has not been selected along with Rohit Sharma in the top order. 

Batter Suryakumar Yadav and Tilak Verma have been selected at the most talked about position of number-4. At the same time, fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah will play in the Asia Cup. 

Rahul was injured in May

Rahul played the last ODI for India on 22 March this year. He went on to play IPL after this, but got injured while fielding in May. After this he underwent surgery and now he is fully fit and ready to play international cricket.

Bumrah will play ODI after 13 months

Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah has also been selected to play ODIs in the Asia Cup. He played the last ODI for India on 14 July 2022 against England in England. India's first match in the Asia Cup will be against Pakistan on 2 September. Looking at Bumrah's form, he will also be given a chance in the playing-11, thus he will be seen playing ODI cricket after 13 months.

Team India for Asia Cup

Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Verma, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami , Mohammed Siraj and the Prasidh Krishna.

Backup: Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper)

No comments:

Post a Comment