8 Sept 2023

By-election Results: BJP Bags Both Tripura Seats; SP Ahead In Ghosi; Baby Devi of JMM Wins

The results of the by-elections for 7 assembly seats in 6 states have started coming. Voting on these seats took place on 5 September. These include Ghosi in Uttar Pradesh, Bageshwar in Uttarakhand, Dhupguri in Bengal, Dumri in Jharkhand, Puthuppali in Kerala and Dhanpur and Boxanagar seats in Tripura.

BJP's Tafajjal Hossain won the Boxanagar seat, which has around 66 per cent minority voters, by 30,237 votes. Hossain got 34,146 votes, while his nearest rival Mizan Hossain of the CPI-M got 3,909 votes.

BJP candidate Bindu Debnath bagged the Dhanpur seat, which has a significant tribal population, by 18,871 votes. Debnath got 30,017 votes, and his nearest rival Kaushik Chanda of the CPI-M got 11,146 votes.

Alleging large-scale rigging during the polling and inaction by the Election Commission, the opposition CPI-M boycotted the counting of votes. The two seats witnessed a one-on-one fight between the ruling BJP and the CPI-M, with the other two opposition parties, Tipra Motha and Congress, not fielding any candidates..

Sudhakar Singh of SP leads in UP

According to the Election Commission's website, both the seats in Tripura - Dhanpur and Boxanagar have been won by the BJP.  On UP's Ghosi seat, Sudhakar Singh of Samajwadi Party (SP) is leading by more than 20 thousand votes from I.N.D.I.A alliance. Till the 14th round of counting, Sudhakar Singh has got 58,771 votes. There will be a total of 34 rounds of counting. BJP's Dara Singh is behind by 20715 votes. In July, Dara Singh Chauhan resigned from Samajwadi Party and joined BJP. After this the Ghosi seat was vacant.

Baby Devi of JMM bags Dumri seat of Jharkhand

Baby Devi of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) from I.N.D.I.A alliance has won the Dumri seat of Jharkhand. Although its official announcement is yet to be made, but according to the statistics, he has defeated AJSU candidate Yashoda Devi from NDA by 13000 thousand votes.

Jagarnath Mahato has dominated this Legislative Assembly seat for almost two decades. After the death of Jagarnath Mahto, JMM had fielded his wife Baby Devi. After the victory, Baby Devi said that this is the victory of the people. I will complete all his incomplete work.

Apart from this, BJP was leading in one seat in Uttarakhand. TMC leads in Bengal and Congress in Kerala.

Out of these 7 assembly seats, 5 seats- Ghosi (UP), Bageshwar (Uttarakhand), Dumri (Jharkhand), Boxanagar and Dhanpur (Tripura) are contested by the I.N.D.I.A alliance together. The I.N.D.I.A alliance parties are pitted against each other in Dhupguri in Bengal and Puthupalli in Kerala.

No comments:

Post a Comment