13 Oct 2023

Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections-2023: Congress May Release First List Of Candidates On This Day, Says Kamal Nath

Bhopal: The Central Election Committee (CEC) of the Congress discussed the selection of candidates for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections-2023 on Friday and the first list of candidates can be released on October 15, the first day of Navratri. 

The CEC meeting, held in Delhi, was chaired by Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge and attended by former party president Rahul Gandhi, other CEC members, party general secretary and Madhya Pradesh in-charge Randeep Surjewala, State Congress Committee President Kamal Nath and many other leaders.

Will release list on first day of Navratri: Nath

After the meeting, Kamal Nath said that 60 seats were discussed in the CEC meeting and further discussion will take place. He said that the candidates will be announced after the Shraddha on the first day of Navratri. 

Kamal Nath told reporters, “About 60 seats have been discussed in the CEC meeting. We will discuss again. After this the final list of candidates will be released. Will release the list after Shraddha.”

Nath said, “We are moving ahead so that we can release our list on October 15. A lot of things have come to light as more discussions take place.”

There was discussion on many seats: Surjewala

Surjewala said, “There was discussion on many seats, there were very positive discussions. The way the State Congress Committee President is coordinating, it seems that the Congress is moving towards a big victory.”

He said that on one hand there is infighting in BJP and on the other hand Congress has self-confidence. Earlier on October 7, a CEC meeting was held regarding Madhya Pradesh. In that meeting, along with discussing the selection of candidates, the party had also decided that caste-based census would be its main agenda in the Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections. The Congress screening committee, formed for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections, had considered the names of potential candidates in a two-day meeting last month.

The ruling BJP in the state has so far declared the names of its candidates on 136 seats. It has fielded Union Ministers Narendra Singh Tomar, Prahlad Singh Patel and Faggan Singh Kulaste and several other party MPs as candidates for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections. 

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan has been made the candidate from Budhni in Vidisha district. Voting for the upcoming elections to the 230-member Madhya Pradesh Assembly will be held on November 17 and the counting of votes will take place on December 3.

In the last assembly elections held in 2018, Congress had won 114 seats in the 230-member assembly and formed a coalition government. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had won 109 seats in this election. Kamal Nath could not complete his term due to the rebellion of a group of MLAs led by Jyotiraditya Scindia and the government led by him fell in March 2020. BJP later returned to power with the support of Scindia faction MLAs and Shivraj Singh Chouhan became the Chief Minister for the fourth time.

No comments:

Post a Comment