11 Oct 2023

Rajasthan Elections 2023: Split in State BJP; Shekhawat, Others Show Rebellious Attitude After Not Getting Tickets, People Close To Vasundhara Raje Also Protest

Jaipur: As soon as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) released its first list of 41 candidates for the upcoming Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2023  in Jaipur, party leaders and their supporters expressed dissent at various locations. Numerous potential candidates, hoping for party nominations, openly voiced their displeasure following the release of the list.

Shekhawat's supporters protest

The state is scheduled to hold elections on November 23, and on Monday, the BJP revealed its first list of candidates for 41 seats. Among these candidates, the party has nominated MP Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore as their contender for the Jhotwara assembly seat. Consequently, supporters of former MLA Rajpal Singh Shekhawat, who had previously run for this seat on behalf of the party, protested this decision.

'Remove parachute candidate'

Shekhawat's supporters raised slogans calling for the removal of the 'parachute' candidate to safeguard the Jhotwara seat. A video of the protest by his supporters has gone viral on social media. Former minister Shekhawat is known to be close to former CM Vasundhara Raje, and after not receiving the ticket, he met with Raje late on Monday night. 

Supporters of Mukesh Goyal protest in Kotputli 

The BJP has nominated Hansraj Patel for the Kotputli seat. Supporters of Mukesh Goyal, who faced defeat in the 2018 assembly elections, protested Patel's candidature by burning party flags. Goyal stated to reporters, "BJP will suffer a significant defeat in Kotputli and will be reduced to 40-50 seats in Rajasthan."

Rohitash Sharma rebels

Similarly, former minister Rohitash Sharma also rebelled against the BJP's candidate announcement. He had expected to receive the nomination for the Banasur assembly constituency, but the BJP instead gave the ticket to Devi Singh Shekhawat. Sharma remarked, "Previously, people received tickets based on caste and financial power, but they lost."

I had worked honestly: Vikas Choudhary

Vikas Choudhary, who contested on the BJP ticket from Kishangarh in the previous assembly elections, is not in the list. The BJP has nominated Ajmer MP Bhagirath Chaudhary for this constituency. 

After the release of the party's list, Choudhary posted on 'X,' "I had worked honestly." Addressing his supporters in Kishangarh, Choudhary stated that he would follow the  order of Janata-Janardan (the people).

Anita Singh may contest despite not getting ticket

Anita Singh, a two-time MLA from Bharatpur Nagar assembly constituency, suggested that she intends to contest the elections despite not receiving the party ticket. Anita Singh posted on social media, "On what basis has the BJP distanced me from itself? A ticket has been granted to a person whose bail will be forfeited."

Anita is also reported to be affiliated with the camp of former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje. The BJP has nominated Jawahar Singh Bedam for the city assembly seat. Bedam contested the 2018 assembly elections from the Kaman seat but was unsuccessful.

Narpat Singh Rajvi also denied ticket

Narpat Singh Rajvi, the sitting MLA from Vidyadhar Nagar, has also been denied ticket. The party has fielded Rajsamand MP Diya Kumari for this seat. Rajvi has not yet responded. Rajvi, a five-time MLA, is the son-in-law of former Vice President Bhairon Singh Shekhawat.

The BJP issued its first list of 41 candidates for the Rajasthan assembly elections on Monday, which includes the names of seven sitting MPs, including Rajyavardhan Rathore and Balaknath. Among these candidates, one is Rajya Sabha MP, while six are Lok Sabha MPs. The party has also granted another opportunity to 12 candidates who were defeated in the previous elections.

No comments:

Post a Comment