17 Nov 2023

Madhya Pradesh election-2023: Over 71 pc voting in MP till 5 pm; less than 60 pc turnout in Bhopal; Agar-Malwa tops chart with 82 pc

Madhya Pradesh election-2023: The voter turnout shot up to 71.16% till 5pm in Madhya Pradesh election-2023 on Friday. Malwa region continue to top the charts, with Agar-Malwa recording 82% voting, followed by 81.19% in Neemuch and Rajgarh at 80.34%.

Bhind recorded poorest turnout with 58.41%, followed by Bhopal's 59.19%.

Chief Electoral Officer Shri Anupam Rajan has said that a total of 2533 candidates (2280 male, 252 female and 1 third gender candidate) are participating in the election process in Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections-2023.


Voting was held from 7 am to 6 pm in the polling centers of all the assembly constituencies of the state. Only at all the polling stations of 3 assembly constituencies of Balaghat district - Baihar, Lanji, and Parswara, 2 assembly constituencies of Mandla district - Bichhiya (47 polling stations) and Mandla (8 polling stations) and 40 polling stations of Dindori assembly constituency of Dindori district, voting was conducted from 7 am to 3 pm only.


Leaders of leading political parties exercised franchise along with their family members. CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Congress leaders Kamal Nath and Digvijaya Singh cast vote.

For the convenience of voters, necessary arrangements were made at all the polling stations in the district. Ramps, drinking water, lights, toilets, wheel chairs were arranged at the polling stations so that the disabled people could vote easily.


Arrangements made in Model and Pink polling centers

Arrangements were made in Model and Pink polling centers in the district as per the instructions given by the Election Commission. Welcome gates were made at model polling stations. Voters were welcomed with red carpet. Meeting arrangements and other arrangements were also made at the polling stations.

Voters took selfies after voting at the selfie points made at polling stations. 

103 year old Mangilal also voted


A huge enthusiasm towards voting was also seen among the elders of Dewas district.

103 year old Mr. Mangilal Beniwal and 96 year old Mrs. Sajanbai of Bhaunrasa of Sonakchh Assembly went to polling booth 176 Mandi Prang of Dewas District Municipal Council Khategaon and cast their vote. They also enthusiastically got their photo clicked at the selfie point set up at the polling station.

No comments:

Post a Comment