17 Nov 2023

Chhattisgarh election 2023: 68 pc turnout in final phase; ITBP constable martyred in Naxal blast


Chhattisgarh election 2023: The second and final phase of voting concluded across 70 Assembly constituencies in the state where an estimated 68 per cent turnout was recorded amid heavy security arrangements until the 5 pm deadline on Friday though the final figure is likely to be higher as queues were observed on numerous polling centres’ premises.

A constable of the Indo-Tibetan Border Police attained martyrdom and an unspecified number of officials sustained injuries in an explosion triggered by insurgents who targeted a polling team returning from Bade Gobra in Gariaband district.

An additional force and an ambulance have been rushed from Mainpur.

Inputs from the Chief Electoral Officer’s workplace provided the district-wise voting break-up as Korba 72 percent, Koriya 74, Gariaband 71, Gaurela-Pendra-Marwahi (a three-part name of a single district) 71, Jashpur 71, Janjgir-Champa 66, Durg 65, Dhamtari 80, Balrampur 68, Balodabazar-Bhatapara 71, Balod 78, Bilaspur 61, Bemetara 73, Manendragarh-Chirmiri-Bharatpur 69, Mahasamund 70, Mungeli 58, Raigarh 72, Raipur 58, Sakti 64, Surguja 68, Sarangarh 66 and Surajpur 66.

The polling centres numbered 18,833 and the official timing vis-à-vis commencement of voting was 8 am barring nine places in Leftwing extremism-affected Bindranawagarh constituency where the limits were 7 am to 3 pm. Webcasting was arranged at 9,424 centres and videography at hypersensitive ones.

As many as 727 centres were ‘manned’ only by female officials.

No comments:

Post a Comment