20 Feb 2024

Lok Sabha Elections-2024: Is There Any Progress in Congress-Samajwadi Party Seat-Sharing Talks for Uttar Pradesh Alliance

Sources reveal that the much-anticipated alliance between Congress and the Samajwadi Party (SP) in Uttar Pradesh has hit a roadblock. The negotiations, which extended late into Monday night, collapsed primarily due to disagreements over the allocation of three crucial seats in the Moradabad division.

The breakdown follows SP chief Akhilesh Yadav's announcement that his party would not join Rahul Gandhi's Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra until a concrete seat-sharing agreement with Congress was reached.

Congress sought Bijnor seat

Despite extensive discussions and apparent cooperation on most seats, the talks encountered an insurmountable obstacle concerning Moradabad. Neither party was willing to compromise, with the Congress also seeking the Bijnor seat from the Samajwadi Party. This deadlock led to the failure of the potential alliance.

Akhilesh Yadav's party had presented a "final offer" of 17 Lok Sabha seats to Congress, excluding the contentious ones. Earlier, they had offered 11 seats, which the Congress rejected, demanding a higher allocation.

High-profile constituencies were agreed upon

While high-profile constituencies were agreed upon, including Amethi, Rae Bareli, Varanasi, Prayagraj, and others, SP's reluctance to concede Ballia, Moradabad, and Bijnor resulted in deadlock.

Samajwadi Party MP Dimple Yadav remained tight-lipped about the deadlock, stating, “Senior leaders are holding discussions. If something happens, it will be known. I am in Mainpuri, and I don't know what decision is being taken regarding Akhilesh’s participation in Congress's Bharat Jodo Yatra,” she told media.

The failed alliance is another setback for the INDIA bloc, aiming to unite opposition parties against the ruling BJP in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

On Monday, the SP had announced 11 candidates from Uttar Pradesh for the general elections. In 2019, the BJP secured 62 Lok Sabha seats out of the state's 80, while the SP and BSP secured 15 seats in their pre-poll alliance, and Congress, contesting alone, won only one seat.

No comments:

Post a Comment