22 Mar 2024

Lok Sabha Elections-2024: Swara Bhasker likely to join Congress; will she take on senior actor Govinda or Poonam Mahajan?

Actress Swara Bhasker is likely to join Congress ahead of Lok Sabha Elections-2024, and may contest against Poonam Mahajan or Govinda.

In Mumbai, amidst preparations led by Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde, Bollywood actor Govinda is being considered as a potential candidate for the North Central Mumbai Lok Sabha constituency under the Shiv Sena banner. 

Meanwhile, reports suggest that actress Swara Bhasker is poised to join the Congress party, with plans for her to enter the electoral fray.

Sources within the Congress reveal that Swara Bhasker's induction into the party is imminent, potentially positioning her as the party's candidate for the North Central Mumbai seat, currently held by the BJP. Poonam Mahajan presently serves as the Member of Parliament from this constituency. 

However, the Shinde faction is gearing up to field Govinda, indicating the likelihood of a contest featuring Swara Bhasker against Poonam Mahajan or Govinda.

Despite not yet formalizing his association with Shiv Sena, sources suggest that Govinda is set to join the party under Eknath Shinde's leadership. It's been reported that the actor recently met with the Chief Minister Shinde at Varsha Bungalow, hinting at an imminent alliance between Govinda and the Shinde faction.

Swara has actively voiced her dissent against govt

Known for her outspoken criticism of government policies, Swara Bhaskar has actively voiced her dissent, notably protesting against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) and the National Register of Citizens (NRC) in 2019. 

Her recent participation in Rahul Gandhi's Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra underscores her growing political engagement. With her anticipated entry into Congress, speculations are rife that the party might nominate her for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Maharashtra is gearing up for elections across its 48 Lok Sabha constituencies, scheduled in five phases on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, and May 20, with vote counting slated for June 4.

No comments:

Post a Comment