22 Apr 2024

Madhya Pradesh Lok Sabha Election 2024: Neelam May Give Tough Fight to Janardan Mishra in Rewa; Can She Turn the Table on BJP Candidate?

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: After voting on 6 seats in the first phase in Madhya Pradesh, now the election campaign of all political parties including Congress and BJP has entered the second phase. Voting will take place on 26th April in Khajuraho, Damoh, Tikamgarh, Hoshangabad, Rewa, and Satna in the second phase. Political analysts are indicating that BJP faces challenges in the Vindhya region this time. That's why BJP's entire focus is on the Satna and Rewa seats in the Vindhya region.

The competition for the Rewa Lok Sabha seat in Vindhya is quite interesting. Political analysts suggest that until recently, there was a one-sided contest on these two seats, but now there seems to be a tough fight here. It is said that the competition here is neck and neck, and anyone can turn the tables at the last moment. 

Decoding the Electoral Dynamics of Rewa Seat

Congress has nominated Neelam Mishra, former MLA and the wife of MLA Abhay Mishra as their candidate from the Rewa Lok Sabha seat. She is contesting against BJP's Janardan Mishra. Until the Congress ticket was decided, BJP seemed to have the upper hand, but as soon as Congress announced its candidate, the equations here started changing daily. Now, it seems that Congress's Neelam Mishra is giving a tough fight to BJP's Janardan Mishra.

BJP's Stronghold

Under the Rewa Lok Sabha seat, there are 8 assembly seats, including Rewa, Gurh, Semariya, Sirmaur, Managwan, Teonthar, Mauganj, and Devtalab. Of these, BJP holds control over 7 seats, while one seat is held by Congress candidate Abhay Mishra. 

Despite Madhya Pradesh Deputy CM Rajendra Shukla hailing from the region, the BJP faces obstacles here. Consequently, leaders ranging from CM Mohan Yadav to party president JP Nadda and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh have all addressed public gatherings in this area.

BJP hasn't received favorable feedback in surveys 

According to political pundits, BJP hasn't received favorable feedback in the surveys on this seat, which is why the contest appears tough. Recently, a song by folk singer Neha Singh Rathore has posed significant challenges for the BJP.

Janardan's Hat-Trick Bid

Janardan Mishra was elected as the MP from Rewa Lok Sabha for the first time during the Modi wave in 2014. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP fielded him again. He defeated Congress candidate Siddharth Tiwari Raj. BJP has fielded Mishra for the third time, but this time Mishra's challenge is not easy.

Recap of 2019 Election

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP's Janardan Mishra defeated Congress's Siddharth Tiwari. (Siddharth had switched from Congress to BJP during the assembly elections. He is currently a bjp MLA from Teonthar seat.) In this election, Mishra received 583,769 votes, i.e., 57.61%, while Siddharth Tiwari received only 270,961 votes, i.e., 26.74%.

Rewa's Electoral Landscape Over Time

Talking about the electoral history of the Rewa Lok Sabha seat, Congress has been quite weak here since 1967. After the elections in 1962, Congress has never won continuously from here. In the last 40 years, Congress has won only once from here. Meanwhile, BSP has won here three times.

No comments:

Post a Comment