21 May 2024

PM Modi hails high voter turnout in Baramulla, praises people's enthusiastic participation

Prime Minister Narendra Modi commended the notable voter turnout in the Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency in Jammu and Kashmir, emphasizing the positive trend of active civic engagement.

Baramulla, which participated in the fifth round of the seven-phase elections on Monday, witnessed a voter turnout of 55.79%, as reported by the Election Commission of India.

The Office of the Lieutenant Governor, in a statement on X, highlighted the high voter turnout in Baramulla as a testament to the unwavering faith of the people in democracy.

Acknowledging this achievement, PM Modi tweeted on Tuesday, "Compliments to the residents of Baramulla for their steadfast commitment to democratic principles. Such enthusiastic participation is commendable."

According to the latest data from the Election Commission of India, the Baramulla parliamentary constituency in Jammu and Kashmir recorded its highest voter turnout in 35 years, with 55.79% participation. The constituency features a contest between National Conference's Omar Abdullah, JKPC's Sajjad Lone, and PDP's Mir Mohammad Fayaz.

This surge in voter turnout marks a significant increase compared to past elections, with historical data showing varying participation rates ranging from 5.48% in 1989 to 34.6% in 2019.

CEC Rajiv Kumar along with fellow Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu while appreciating the efforts of both civil and security personnel in the smooth and peaceful conduct of elections and thanking enthusiastic participation by the voters of J&K said that a clear message has been given that people of Jammu and Kashmir are eager to exercise franchise and have their stakes in the democratic system of governance.

In the context of the recent general elections in the region following the abrogation of Article 370 and the enactment of the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019, the heightened civic engagement underscores a positive development in the democratic process.

The ongoing 2024 Lok Sabha elections are unfolding in seven phases from April 19 to June 1, with the final results scheduled to be announced on June 4.

No comments:

Post a Comment