14 Jun 2024

Ajit Pawar's wife Sunetra Pawar files nomination for Rajya Sabha, are Chhagan Bhujbal, other party leaders not happy?

Despite losing the high-profile Baramati Lok Sabha seat in Maharashtra, NCP has decided to send Ajit Pawar's wife Sunetra Pawar to Rajya Sabha.

Sharad Pawar's daughter Supriya Sule defeated her sister-in-law Sunetra Pawar (Ajit Pawar's wife) in the Lok Sabha elections-2024.

There is a lot of resentment among party leaders due to this decision of NCP. Many senior leaders of the party including Chhagan Bhujbal were in the race to get Rajya Sabha candidature. However, Chhagan Bhujbal has supported Sunetra Pawar's candidature.

It is being said that Chhagan Bhujbal is unhappy with the decision to send Sunetra to Rajya Sabha. But he said that this is the party's decision and has been taken unanimously.

He said, "I, Baba Siddique and Anant Paranjape all three wanted Rajya Sabha membership but the party's decision has to be respected. I am not an independent person who can decide whatever I want.''

Sources say that by sending Ajit Pawar's wife Sunetra Pawar to Rajya Sabha, they want to keep her publicly present so that she can be pitted against Supriya Sule in front of the voters next time. When Chhagan Bhujbal was asked whether Ajit Pawar is distributing posts to his family members, he said, ''Everyone's wish is not fulfilled.''

Bhujbal is not unhappy: Sunil Tatkare 

Meanwhile, the only Lok Sabha MP of the party, Sunil Tatkare, mentioned that Bhujbal is not upset and was present during the nomination filing. Sunil Tatkare, the NCP state president, stated, "All leaders, including Mahayuti leaders including Devendra Fadnavis and Eknath Shinde, had discussions. Following this, Sunetra Pawar was chosen as the candidate today. There is no discontent among us; the decision was made collectively. It's important to note that there is no discord within Mahayuti either. Chhagan Bhujbal is not upset; he participated in the nomination process today."

Ajit Pawar's party contested three seats in Maharashtra this time but it won only one seat. Whereas the NCP (Sharad Chandra Pawar) faction contested ten seats and won eight seats.

No comments:

Post a Comment