14 Jun 2024

Who Will Become Next Lok Sabha Speaker? TDP and JDU Stake Claims; Om Birla and D Purandeswari on BJP's List

Following Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the Council of Ministers taking their oaths and the subsequent allocation of ministerial departments, the commencement date for the Parliament session has been set. The session will run from June 24 to July 3, featuring eight meetings and two primary tasks: swearing in the newly elected members of Parliament and electing the Speaker of the Lok Sabha.

The Rajya Sabha session is scheduled from June 27 to July 3. During this brief session, PM Narendra Modi will introduce his Council of Ministers to Parliament following the President's address on June 27. The Prime Minister will also respond to the discussion on the motion of thanks for the President's speech in both Houses of Parliament.

This session marks the first after the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The BJP has not secured a majority on its own but the NDA holds an absolute majority with 293 seats in the Lok Sabha, of which the BJP has 241. The opposition alliance has garnered 233 seats, indicating a shift from the 17th Lok Sabha. The stronger opposition presence in the 18th Lok Sabha suggests a potentially tumultuous session ahead.

The battle for the Lok Sabha Speaker's post has seen claims from TDP and JDU, while BJP's list includes names like Om Birla and D Purandeswari. With the new political dynamics, the selection of the Speaker will be closely watched.

Radha Mohan Singh likely to be appointed Protem Speaker

The election for the Speaker will be held on June 26, the third day of the session. Before that, the President will appoint a Protem Speaker to administer the oath to the newly elected MPs on June 24 and 25. Union Minister and 7-time BJP MP Radha Mohan Singh, one of the most senior members, is likely to be appointed Protem Speaker. The newly elected members will be sworn in on the first two days of the Parliament session.

Who are the contenders for the Speaker

During the monsoon session of Modi Government 3.0, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman will present the first budget of the term. Before this, the Speaker of the Lok Sabha will be chosen. Om Birla, who served as Speaker in the 17th Lok Sabha, is a leading contender. However, there is speculation that the Telugu Desam Party, led by Chandrababu Naidu, and Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal (United) are also vying for this key position. Both parties have put forward their claims for the Speaker’s post.

TDP and JDU eyeing the post of Speaker

The names of many TDP leaders including GM Harish Balayogi, son of former Speaker GMC Balayogi, are also in discussion for the post of Speaker. However, no official statement has come from TDP in this regard.

D Purandeswari's name also in BJP's list

Daggubati Purandeswari, the Andhra Pradesh BJP President, has emerged as a potential candidate alongside Om Birla. Purandeswari is the sister-in-law of TDP leader N. Chandrababu Naidu. There's speculation she may become a unanimous candidate. The daughter of former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and TDP founder NT Rama Rao, Purandeswari previously won the Lok Sabha elections in 2004 and 2009 on a Congress ticket. She has now returned as a BJP MP from the Rajahmundry seat.

Post of Speaker is crucial in a coalition govt

The Speaker is considered a troubleshooter in the House, with their role becoming particularly crucial in coalition governments. This is why it is important for the BJP to have a Lok Sabha Speaker from its own party. If ever a situation of defection arises, the Lok Sabha Speaker also has the right to disqualify any member of the House.

No comments:

Post a Comment