8 Jun 2024

Congress MPs Urge Rahul Gandhi to Become Leader of Opposition: What Rahul Said?

A day before Prime Minister Narendra Modi's swearing-in, the Congress Working Committee (CWC) convened a meeting at the Ashoka Hotel in Delhi on Saturday. The meeting saw attendance from party president Mallikarjun Kharge, Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi, Congress-ruled state Chief Ministers, state presidents, and newly elected MPs.

Rahul asked for some time to consider the proposal

During the three-hour meeting, Congress MPs passed a resolution to appoint Rahul Gandhi as the party leader in the Lok Sabha. Responding to the MPs' demand, Rahul Gandhi asked for some time to consider the proposal. The meeting also covered discussions on the seats won and lost in the Lok Sabha elections.

Party president Mallikarjun Kharge highlighted the impact of Rahul Gandhi's Bharat Jodo Yatra and Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, noting that the party's seats increased in regions where these campaigns took place. Kharge extended congratulations to Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi, and all party leaders and workers for their efforts in the Lok Sabha elections.

Post of LoP Vacant for 10 Years

The position of Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha has been vacant for the past decade. In 2014, the Congress secured 44 seats, and in 2019, it won 52 seats. Despite being the second-largest party after the BJP, Congress did not secure the Leader of Opposition post.

To qualify for the Leader of Opposition post, a party needs 10 percent of the total seats in the Lok Sabha, which means Congress required 54 MPs out of 543 seats. This time, Congress won 99 seats on its own.

In 2014, former Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan declined to grant the Leader of Opposition status to Congress, despite it being the largest opposition party. In the last Lok Sabha, Congress performed slightly better but still did not reach the 54-seat threshold. Adhir Ranjan Chowdhary was appointed as the leader of Congress in the Lok Sabha, but no one was given the Leader of Opposition status.

No comments:

Post a Comment