10 Jun 2024

MP By-elections 2024: BJP Eyes Amarwara Assembly Seat Post Clean Sweep in State, See Details

In the aftermath of the BJP's win in the Chhindwara Lok Sabha constituency, previously held by Congress stalwart Kamal Nath, the party is now setting its sights on clinching the Amarwara assembly segment. The by-election for this seat is slated for July 10.

During the recent general elections, the BJP candidate in the Chhindwara Lok Sabha region secured a lead of more than 15,000 votes in the Amarwara seat.

The by-poll was necessiated after Kamlesh Shah, a three-time Congress MLA from Amarwara, resigned on March 29 this year and subsequently joined the ruling BJP. Shah later stepped down from the state assembly. The Election Commission announced the by-election schedule on Monday, with vote counting scheduled for July 13.

In the recent Lok Sabha polls, BJP contender Banty Vivek Sahu defeated former Chhindwara MP and Congress candidate Nakul Nath by a substantial margin of 1.13 lakh votes.

Election Commission records show that during the general elections, the BJP garnered 93,512 votes while the Congress received 78,473 votes in the polling stations falling under the Amarwara assembly seat, resulting in the BJP leading by over 15,000 votes in this constituency.

Cong has won 9 times since 1972 

Historically, since 1972, the BJP has secured the Amarwara (ST) seat twice—in 1990 and 2008—while the Congress has emerged victorious nine times. The Gondwana Gantantra Party (GGP), a tribal party, won this constituency once in 2003.

Kamlesh Shah claimed victory in the Amarwara assembly seat on a Congress ticket in the November 2023 elections, defeating BJP candidate Monika Manmohan Shah Batti by a margin of 25,086 votes.

No comments:

Post a Comment