4 Jun 2024

UP Lok Sabha Election 2024 Results: Rahul Gandhi on track for a huge victory in Rae Bareli, check details

New Delhi: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi is on track for a huge victory in Uttar Pradesh's Rae Bareli, currently holding the largest winning margin in the state. 

According to Election Commission data at 3:15 pm, Gandhi is leading his closest rival, BJP's Dinesh Pratap Singh, by over 3 lakh votes. In comparison, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is ahead of his closest competitor, Congress' Ajay Rai, by over 1,40,000 votes in Varanasi.

Sonia Gandhi, who has held the Rae Bareli seat since 2004, won against Dinesh Pratap Singh by a margin of 1,67,000 votes in 2019. She chose not to participate in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections and instead moved to the Rajya Sabha, with Rahul Gandhi taking her place as the Congress candidate in Rae Bareli.

Rahul Gandhi previously represented the Amethi Lok Sabha seat from 2004 until 2019. In the last elections, he lost Amethi to BJP's Smriti Irani but secured a seat in Kerala, maintaining his MP status.

In this election, Rahul Gandhi is contesting from both Rae Bareli (Uttar Pradesh) and Wayanad (Kerala) and is leading in both constituencies. In Wayanad, he is ahead of his nearest rival, CPM's Annie Raja, by over 3 lakh votes.

The Congress party is also aiming to reclaim the Amethi seat from the BJP, with Smriti Irani trailing Congress candidate Kishori Lal by over 90,000 votes.

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) leads in 291 seats, while the opposition INDIA bloc is ahead in 233 seats, according to the latest trends. Notably, the Congress-Samajwadi Party alliance is leading over the BJP in Uttar Pradesh, highlighting surprising developments in the state.

No comments:

Post a Comment