5 Jul 2024

PM Modi interacts with Indian Contingent heading to Paris Olympics 2024; know more about Indian athletics team

The Prime Minister, Narendra Modi interacted with Indian Contingent heading to Paris Olympic 2024 in New Delhi.

The Prime Minister posted on X;

“Interacted with our contingent heading to Paris for the @Olympics. I am confident our athletes will give their best and make India proud. Their life journeys and success give hope to 140 crore Indians.”

28-member Indian athletics team to compete at Olympics

The Athletics Federation of India (AFI) has revealed that a team of 28 Indian athletes, including the defending men's javelin throw champion Neeraj Chopra, will participate in the Paris 2024 Olympics.

Three years ago, Neeraj Chopra made history as the first Indian track and field athlete to clinch an Olympic gold medal. This year, he will be accompanied by Olympic debutant Kishore Jena in the javelin throw event at the upcoming competition.

Annu Rani, who claimed gold at the Asian Games last year, will represent India in the women's javelin throw.

The 28-member squad for Paris includes eight athletes from the Tokyo Olympics, consisting of 17 men and 11 women. Alongside Chopra and Rani, the squad features Avinash Sable (men's 3000m steeplechase), Tajinderpal Singh Toor (men's shot put), Priyanka Goswami (women's race walk), and 4x400m relay runners Muhammed Anas, Amoj Jacob, and Subha Venkatesan, all Tokyo competitors.

Muhammed Anas, part of the men's 4x400m relay team, will make his third consecutive Olympic appearance.

Making their Olympic debuts are hurdler Jyothi Yarraji, shot putter Abha Khatua, and steeplechaser Parul Chaudhary. Chaudhary, who will compete in both the 3000m steeplechase and the 5000m race, is the only athlete selected for two individual events. She won gold in the 5000m and silver in the 3000m steeplechase at the Asian Games last year.

National record-holder Akshdeep Singh, Vikash Singh, and Paramjeet Singh Bisht will compete in the men's 20km race walk, while Suraj Panwar will participate in the mixed marathon event alongside Priyanka Goswami.

Despite meeting the entry standards, Ram Baboo missed out on selection for the men's 20km race walk due to the three-athlete-per-country limit. Suraj Panwar made the team via world rankings, while the other four qualified through entry standards.

Priyanka Goswami, a Commonwealth Games silver medallist, will be the sole Indian in the women's 20km race walk in Paris.

Murali Sreeshankar met the entry standard in the men's long jump but will miss the Olympics due to an injury. Fellow long jumper Jeswin Aldrin narrowly missed the initial cut but is expected to make the final list, which will be released by World Athletics on July 7, pending AFI's discretion.

Indian Athletics Team for Paris 2024 Olympics


Avinash Sable (3000m steeplechase)

Neeraj Chopra (javelin throw)

Kishore Jena (javelin throw)

Tajinderpal Singh Toor (shot put)

Praveen Chithravel (triple jump)

Abdulla Aboobacker (triple jump)

Sarvesh Kushare (high jump)

Akshdeep Singh (20km race walk)

Vikash Singh (20km race walk)

Paramjeet Singh Bisht (20km race walk)

Muhammed Anas (4x400m relay)

Muhammed Ajmal (4x400m relay)

Amoj Jacob (4x400m relay)

Santhosh Kumar Tamilarasan (4x400m relay)

Rajesh Ramesh (4x400m relay)

Mijo Chacko Kurian (4x400m relay)

Suraj Panwar (race walk mixed marathon)


Kiran Pahal (400m)

Parul Chaudhary (3000m steeplechase and 5000m)

Jyothi Yarraji (100m hurdles)

Annu Rani (javelin throw)

Abha Khatua (shot put)

Jyothika Sri Dandi (4x400m relay)

Subha Venkatesan (4x400m relay)

Vithya Ramraj (4x400m relay)

MR Poovamma (4x400m relay)

Prachi (4x400m relay)

Priyanka Goswami (20km race walk and race walk mixed marathon)

No comments:

Post a Comment