16 Dec 2019

Fourth Phase Of Voting Ends In Jharkhand

Fourth phase of election has ended today in Jharkhand assembly elections.  A total of 221 candidates, including two prominent ministers fate will be decided from voting in 15 assembly seats.  

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has also urged the public to vote in large numbers.  PM Modi had tweeted that, "Today is the fourth phase of voting in Jharkhand assembly elections.  All voters are requested to cast their votes."

Madhupur seat - In Madhupur seat, the state Labor Minister and BJP candidate Raj Paliwal is likely to face the main contest of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha candidate Hussain Ansari.

Chandankiyari seat - The main contest in Chandankiyari seat is between Revenue Minister Amar Kumar Bawari and AJSU candidate Umakant Rajak.

Jharia seat - In Jharia seat, a direct fight can be seen between two women of the same family, where BJP has made Ragini Singh its candidate.  At the same time, Congress has given ticket to Purnima Neeraj Singh.  Ragini is the wife of BJP's sitting MLA Sanjeev Singh.  Sanjeev Singh is in jail in connection with the murder of his cousin Neeraj Singh.

Chief Electoral Officer Vinay Kumar Chabe said that a total of 47,85,009 voters in 15 assembly constituencies are eligible to exercise their franchise.  There are 22,44,134 women and 81 third gender voters among them.  A total of 221 candidates, including 23 women candidates, are in the fray in the fourth phase.  The maximum number of 25 candidates are contesting on Bokaro seat.

No comments:

Post a comment