14 Jun 2022

Sharad Pawar Oppositions Choice For President!

Latest reports have been coming in Opposition parties have been scrambling to find a candidate for the presidency, with more meetings and phone calls in the run-up to next month's elections. As the talks revolve around former Union Minister Sharad Pawar, there is speculation that he may be the main opposition candidate in India.
Sharad Pawar's Maharashtra allies Congress and Shiv Sena are reportedly on board with the idea.

Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge met Sharad Pawar last Thursday, with a message from party official Sonia Gandhi. The two met at Mr Pawar's home in Mumbai "Silver Oaks", sources said.

The NCP leader has never committed himself until now.

On Sunday, Mr Pawar received a call from Sanjay Singh, leader of Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Mallikarjun Kharge also spoke with Shiv Sena chief minister and Maharashtra Prime Minister Uddhav Thackeray, as well as Tamil Nadu Prime Minister MK Stalin.

Notably, Congress also reached out to Bengal Prime Minister Mamata Banerjee, who convened an opposition meeting at the Constitutional Club in Delhi on Wednesday to discuss a joint presidential election strategy. Mr Kharge reportedly spoke to Ms Banerjee recently.

Elections will be held on July 18 for India's next president and counting, if necessary, will be held three days later. The term of President Ram Nath Kovind expires on July 24.

Mr Pawar, one of India's largest and most influential leaders - many say, the most sophisticated politicians, has been praised for creating and breaking many coalitions and governments in the past few decades.

He was the founder of the ruling Maharashtra coalition, which brings together ideologically rival factions Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress to thwart the BJP's quest for power.

The BJP has authorized its party chief JP Nadda and Union Minister Rajnath Singh to hold talks with the parties across the spectrum and direct them to consensus.

In 2017, the BJP nominated Rajnath Singh and Venkaiah Naidu in a similar achievement. Later, Venkaiah Naidu was elected NDA Vice President.

If there is no consensus, the BJP will prepare for the election, sources said.

The presidential vote is based on an electoral college that includes the votes of Members of Parliament and Members of Parliament. About 4,809 voters - Members of Parliament and Members of Parliament - will vote to elect a new President of India.

The vote vote for each MLA depends on the people of the country and the number of seats in the assembly.

The total capacity of the electoral college is 10,86,431. Any candidate who wins 50 percent of the vote wins.

The BJP and its allies challenged 13,000 votes in most of the marks.

In 2017, the ruling coalition was supported by K Chandrashekhar Rao's Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), Jagan Reddy's YSR Congress and Odisha Prime Minister Naveen Patnaik's BJD.

In stark contrast to this, Telangana Prime Minister Chandrashekhar Rao, or KCR, is leading efforts to mobilize opposition forces to take over the BJP collectively.

No comments:

Post a Comment