26 Oct 2022

Mallikarjun Kharge sets up 47-member Steering Committee: Shahshi Tharoor Excluded

New Delhi: New Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge on Wednesday set up a 47-member Steering Committee that has former prime minister Manmohan Singh and the party's former chiefs Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi

Shashi Tharoor, who contested against Kharge, has not found a place in the team. Former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Digvijaya Singh has also been included in the committee.

The interim panel headed by Kharge would replace the Congress Working Committee, the apex decision-making body, till a new CWC is formed after Kharge's election is ratified at the party meeting.

Most of the members of the last CWC have been retained in the committee which was announced hours after Kharge took charge as the new party Congress president.

The CWC is the supreme executive body of the Congress party. After Kharge's announcement, now only the new steering committee will seal the big decisions related to the party organization.

No comments:

Post a Comment