9 Nov 2022

T-20 World Cup 2022 First Semifinal Today: New Zealand In Better Form; Concern About Opening Partnership For Pakistan

Sydney: The first semi-final of the T-20 World Cup 2022 will be played between Pakistan and New Zealand at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) today. According to Indian time, this match will start at 1.30 pm.

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson and Pakistan skipper Babar Azam will toss the coin at 1 PM (IST).

2009 champions Pakistan had made it to the semi-finals on the last day of the Super 12 matches. The luck also played a big role in this, as the Netherlands defeated South Africa. 

However, now the team led by Babar Azam is in front of New Zealand in the semi-finals. In terms of statistics, Pakistan has the upper hand, but the New Zealand team, captained by Kane Williamson, is also in good form.

So far 28 T-20 International matches have been played between the two teams. Out of this, Pakistan won 17 and New Zealand won 11.

New Zealand lost just one match in the group stage. New Zealand's journey so far in the World Cup has been good. They lost just one match in the group stage. In the first match, they defeated Australia by a huge margin of 89 runs. After this defeated Sri Lanka and and Ireland. The match against Afghanistan was called off due to rain.

New Zealand lost only one match against England. Glenn Phillips scored the most runs in this World Cup from the New Zealand team. At the same time, Mitchell Santner took the most wickets.

The journey of the World Cup so far has been full of ups and downs for Pakistan. It was defeated in the first match against India. In the second match Zimbabwe beat by 1 run. Pakistan made a great comeback after two defeats and defeated a strong team like South Africa apart from the Netherlands. Pakistan defeated Bangladesh in the last match.

There is concern about the team's opening partnership, as runs are not coming off the bat of captain Babar Azam. He has scored only 39 runs in 5 matches so far. Fans would like him to play a big innings in the semi-finals.

New Zealand (Playing XI) from: Kane Williamson (captain), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Pakistan (Playing XI) from: Babar Azam (captain), Iftikhar Ahmed, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Hasnain, Shadab Khan, Shan Masood, Mohammad Nawaz, Haris Rauf, Muhammad Rizwan, Khushdil Shah, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Wasim

No comments:

Post a Comment