15 Dec 2022

Can India Become Permanent Member of UNSC Or Will China Block India’s Entry?

United Nations: A meeting was held to reform the United Nations Security Council (UNSC). A good news has come for India in the meeting. Several countries have extended their support for India's permanent United Nations Security Council (UNSC) membership.

 In this meeting, three big countries France, Britain and United Arab Emirates have supported India to become a permanent member. US President Joe Biden during his address to the UN general assembly recently reiterated that “America supports India's bid”.

Russia, America had also already supported India

The Foreign Minister of Russia has also already supported India and the American President has also agreed that India should become a permanent member. 

Now France, Britain and United Arab Emirates (UAE) have also openly supported India. This support has helped India a lot. Along with India, France has also supported the membership of Germany, Japan and Brazil. 

The G-4 countries - Brazil, Germany, India, and Japan - have been supporting each other for the permanent seats on the UNSC.In such a situation, every big country is now seen standing with India. But despite this it is not so easy for India to get this membership on account of China.

China has opposed India’s membership

So far, China has opposed India’s membership in the United Nations Security Council (UNSC). It is believed that China will not change its stand. In such a situation even after support of big nations, India cannot become a permanent member of the UNSC. 

India will get Veto Power

India has been trying for a long time to become a permanent member of UNSC. If India becomes a permanent member, then India will get Veto Power. Till now only five countries have veto power in UNSC. 

Veto Power gives permanent members the right to veto (reject) any resolution of the UNSC. Along with veto power, there is also a provision that even if one of the five countries use it, that proposal gets rejected. This is the reason why now there are demands for reform in UNSC.

These 5 countries are permanent members

At present America, Britain, Russia, China and France are permanent members. Apart from India, Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, Norway and UAE are non-permanent members. -Permanent Member). Non-permanent members are elected on regional basis in the council.

Meanwhile, India is set to conclude a two-year stint as a non-permanent member of the UNSC at the end of this month.

No comments:

Post a Comment