18 Jan 2023

Assembly Elections In Tripura On Feb 16, In Nagaland And Meghalaya On Feb 27; Results On March 2: EC

New Delhi: The Election Commission on Wednesday announced the dates for the Legislative Assemblies of Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland. Polling will be held in Tripura on February 16 and in Meghalaya and Nagaland on February 27. The results of all the states will be announced on March 2. 

Participation of women voters high in all 3 states

Chief Election Commissioner Rajeev Kumar said that the participation of women voters is high in all the three states and there is not much electoral violence here. We are committed to fair elections here.

Filing of Nominations: Tripura - January 21 to January 30, Meghalaya and Nagaland - January 31 to February 7

Last date for withdrawal of nominations: Tripura - February 2, Meghalaya and Nagaland - February 10

Women staff will handle 376 polling stations

9 thousand 125 polling stations have been set up in all the three states. In rural areas, 82% more polling stations have been set up as compared to 2018. Women staff will handle 376 polling stations in all the three states.

1.76 lakh first time voters

There are 62.8 lakh voters in the three states. Of these, there are 31.47 lakh women voters and 97 thousand voters above the age of 80 years. There are 1.76 lakh first time voters. An interesting feature of these elections is that the majority mark in all the three states is 31.

Before the Lok Sabha elections in 2024, elections will be held in a total of 9 states apart from the northeastern states of Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland. 

Election in other states 

After North East, assembly elections are likely to be held in Karnataka in April or May. The term of the 40-member Mizoram Legislative Assembly also ends on December 17 this year. Whereas the term of assemblies will end on different dates in January 2024 in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Telangana.

No comments:

Post a Comment