6 Jan 2023

Delhi Mayor Polls Stalled After BJP, AAP Members Clash; Fate of AAP’s Shelly Oberoi & BJP’s Rekha Gupta Couldn't Be Decided

New Delhi: Clashes between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the BJP today stalled the Delhi Mayor election as rival councilors clashed at the first meeting of the newly elected civic body and raised slogans. 

AAP and BJP members were seen jostling, lashing out and even falling to the ground during the meeting of Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD). Due to the commotion, the MCD meeting ended abruptly and the election was put off until further notice.

Shelly Oberoi, Rekha Gupta are candidates of AAP and BJP

AAP has named Shelly Oberoi as its candidate for Mayor. The BJP has put up Rekha Gupta. AAP's back-up candidate is Ashu Thakur. The nominees for the post of deputy mayor are AAP's Aaley Muhammad Iqbal and Jalaj Kumar and Kamal Bagri from the BJP.

The oath-taking of the councilors was to begin at 11 am. The presiding officer first started administering the oath to the nominated members. Members of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) started protesting.

AAP accused LG of trying to skew Mayor polls

AAP accused the Lieutenant Governor of trying to skew the Mayor polls to help the BJP.

AAP chief and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal has accused the Lieutenant Governor of intentionally picking 10 nominated members aligned to the BJP.

AAP's protest was opposed by BJP corporators. There was a scuffle between the two. AAP corporators climbed on the seat of the presiding officer. 

During this, some councilors were seen lifting the chair and slamming it. Some fell down in shock. Some got hurt.

LG appointed BJP corporator Satya Sharma as pro tem speaker for mayoral election. AAP had proposed Mukesh Goyal. AAP objected to this too. 

After this, as soon as the pro tem speaker started administering oath to the nominated members of LG, the Aam Aadmi Party started protesting and shouting slogans.

Nominated members are not sworn in first: AAP

The Aam Aadmi Party says that the nominated members are not sworn in first, but the BJP is changing the tradition. BJP MP Meenakshi Lekhi said that AAP leaders are not aware of the rules. That's why they are creating ruckus. Why are they afraid when they are in the majority? You MPs do the same thing in the Rajya Sabha.

On the other hand, the Congress decided not to participate in the mayoral election. AAP MLA Atishi has accused the Congress of favoring the BJP after she decided not to contest the polls. 273 members will vote in the Mayor's election. A figure of 133 is needed for a majority. AAP has 150 votes while BJP has 113 votes.

No comments:

Post a Comment