11 Feb 2023

India Vs Australia Test: Ravichandran Ashwin, Shami and Jadeja Steer India to Big Win, Kangaroos Bundled Out For 91

Nagpur: Team India has won the first match of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy by an innings and 132 runs. With this, the Indian team has taken a 1-0 lead in the four-match Border-Gavaskar Trophy series.

Indian bowlers bundled out Australia for 91 runs in the second innings at Nagpur's Jamtha Cricket Stadium on Saturday. Earlier, India's first innings ended on 400 runs. In such a situation, the hosts got a lead of 223 runs in the first innings.

Steve Smith scored the maximum 24 runs from the Kangaroo team. Marnus Labuschagne contributed 17 runs. While David Warner and Alex Carey got out after scoring 10-10 runs.

Ashwin took 5 wickets

Indian spinner Ravichandran Ashwin took 5 wickets. Mohammed Shami and Ravindra Jadeja took two wickets each. Akshar Patel got a wicket.

Earlier, Captain Rohit Sharma scored 120, Akshar Patel scored 84 runs from India. Ravindra Jadeja played useful innings of 70 and Mohammed Shami 37 runs. Todd Murphy, debuting for Australia, took 7 wickets. Australia’s first innings was limited to 177 runs.

Australia's second innings was never easy

Australia's second innings was never going to be easy and as it happened, they were down and out in no time. Veteran spinner Ashwin came into play from his first over when he picked up Usman Khawaja on five. 

Though Steve Smith showed his class by playing some classy shots, he just couldn't save his team from facing a heavy defeat.

This loss will haunt the Aussies who had earlier decided not to play a practice game ahead of the Border-Gavaskar series. The next Test will be played in New Delhi from February 17th.

Star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja starred with both bat and ball as he scored 70 runs in the first innings and picked up seven wickets across two outings. 

Axar Patel also impressed with an incredible 84 while captain Rohit Sharma entered record books with a hundred to his name as well.

Rohit first Indian to score centuries in all 3 formats

In this match Indian captain Rohit Sharma scored his 9th test century. He became the first Indian to score a century in all three formats as captain. Talking about the batsmen around the world, before Rohit only Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan, South Africa's Faf du Plessis and Pakistan's Babar Azam could achieve this feat.

No comments:

Post a Comment