19 Feb 2023

Team India Retains Border-Gavaskar Trophy; Ravindra Jadeja Hero Of India's Victory

New Delhi: Team India has retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy for the fourth time in a row. India beat Australia by 6 wickets on the third day of the Delhi Test to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series. Two tests of the series are left.

If Australia wins both of them to equalize 2-2, even in such a situation, India will retain the trophy. TThe last Border Gavaskar Trophy was won by India. When the Test series between two teams is for a trophy, then even in case of a draw of a series, the trophy goes to the team that captured it last time. The same happens in the Ashes.
However, with the kind of game that Team India is showing, there is every possibility that it can make a clean sweep in this series by 4-0.

Ravindra Jadeja took 7 wickets

Ravindra Jadeja was the hero of this victory of India. He took 7 wickets for 42 runs in Australia's second innings. Ravichandran Ashwin took three wickets as Australia lost nine wickets for 52 runs in the morning session.
The Kangaroo team was reduced to a score of just 113 runs.
India scored 262 and Australia scored 263 in the first innings.

India completed the chase in 26.4 overs

Set a target of 115 after Australia were bowled out for 113 in their second innings, India completed the chase in 26.4 overs on the third day of the match.

Playing in his 100th Test match, Cheteshwar Pujara hit the winning runs as he finished unbeaten on 31, while wicket-keeper Srikar Bharat stroked a quick 23 from 22 balls.
Electing to bat, Australia had made 263 in their first innings before India fought back to post 262 to concede a narrow one-run lead.

No comments:

Post a Comment