16 Feb 2023

Tripura Assembly Elections: Voting Underway On 60 Assembly Seats; CM Manik Saha Cast Vote

Agartala: Polling for 60 assembly seats in Tripura began at 7 am on Thursday amid tight security. All preparations had already been completed for peaceful polling in the state.

Around 28.23 lakh voters of the state will exercise their franchise. There was 12.76% voting Till 9 AM. These voters will decide the future of 259 candidates. Voting will run till 4 pm. The results will be declared on March 2.

Chief Electoral Officer Kiran Gitte said that tight security arrangements have been made inside and outside the polling stations. Tripura State Rifles and State Police have patrolled all the areas to ensure safe passage of voters to the polling stations.

BJP contesting on 55, IPFT on five, Tipra Motha on 42 seats

The state's ruling Bharatiya Janata Party is contesting 55 and its alliance partner IPFT is contesting the remaining five seats. The newly formed party, Tipra Motha, is contesting alone on 42 out of 60 seats, of which 20 are tribal-dominated.

BJP has fielded the maximum number of 12 women candidates. Many veteran party leaders including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP President JP Nadda, Manoj Tiwari himself arrived to campaign for BJP. BJP also took out Vijay Sankalp Yatra.

Cong contesting on 13, TMC on 28 seats

The Communist Party of India-Marxist is contesting on 43 seats, while the Left Forward Bloc, the Revolutionary Socialist Party and the Communist Party of India are contesting on one seat each. Congress will contest on 13 seats. Trinamool Congress is contesting on 28 seats. Independents are trying their luck on 58 seats.

The Left parties and the Congress are contesting the elections together. Tipra Motha is expected to get more support in tribal-dominated areas.

There is a BJP government in the state and the CM is Manik Saha. Election campaigning in the state ended on Tuesday evening.

Chief Minister Dr. Manik Saha reached Maharani Tulsibati Girls School in Bordavali to cast his vote.

No comments:

Post a Comment