13 Apr 2023

Karnataka Assembly Elections-2023: Ruckus In BJP After Ticket Distribution, State BJP's Fight Reaches Delhi

Bengaluru: After brainstorming over the names of the candidates for the Karnataka Assembly elections, two lists have come out from both the parties. List of Congress candidates released but discontent did not surface but after release of second list of 23 candidates of BJP, massive rebellion has started in Karnataka unit. In the first list, 189 names were announced. Due to which some MLAs are angry at being denied tickets. In the first list, tickets of 11 MLAs have been cut and 52 new faces have been fielded.

BJP has fielded 52 new faces

BJP national general secretary and in-charge of Karnataka Arun Singh said that the party has fielded 52 new faces. According to him, in the list of 189 candidates, 32 are from Other Backward Classes while 30 are from Scheduled Castes and 16 from Scheduled Tribes. 

Reports suggest that the BJP has denied tickets to 11 sitting MLAs in the first list. Lalaji Mendon has not been given ticket from Kapu seat in the state. Mahadevappa Yadawad's ticket was cut from Ramdurga. Ramanna Lamani did not get ticket from Shirahiti. Anil Benke was not given a chance from Belagum North. The BJP has also denied ticket to S Angara in Sulya. These are the big names who were not given tickets. 

Laxman Savadi resigns

Tickets of former deputy CM Laxman Savadi and Anand Singh have been cut. However, the ticket has been given to Anand Singh's son Siddharth Singh. 

Laxman Savadi on Wednesday announced his decision to resign from primary membership of the BJP, a day after the ruling party denied him a ticket to contest in the May 10 Karnataka Assembly elections.

Sitting MLA Mahesh Kumathalli, who was backed by BJP leader and former minister Ramesh Jarkiholi, was given a ticket from Athani in Belagavi district. At the same time, the ticket was not given to the sitting minister S Angara. Angara contests from Sulya assembly seat.

Mass  resignations in support of Eshwarappa

Several leaders and office bearers of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Karnataka's Shivamogga district have tendered mass resignations in support of senior leader and former Deputy Chief Minister KS Eshwarappa a day after the latter opted out of the Assembly election contest.

The BJP Karnataka unit is facing rebellion from several senior leaders, who have not been given the tickets to contest the assembly polls.

Former CM Shettar hopeful party will review decision

Meanwhile, after being denied the ticket, former chief minister Jagadish Shettar has rushed to Delhi. He hopes that the party will review its decision and field him for the seventh consecutive term.


Fielded former police commissioner Bhaskar Rao

While Vokkaliga leader R Ashok will contest from two assembly seats. Apart from Padmanabha Nagar in Bangalore, he is also party candidate from Kanakapura seat. Along with this, V Somanna will also contest from two seats. He will contest against Siddaramaiah from Varuna and will also be a candidate from Chamarajanagar. 

BJP has given ticket to B. S. Yediyurappa's son B Y Vijender from Shikaripura seat of Yediyurappa. Former Bangalore Police Commissioner Bhaskar Rao has also got the ticket. Recently former IAS Anil Kumar, who left Aam Aadmi Party and joined BJP, has also got ticket.

Target to win 150 seats

The BJP has entered the fray with the aim of returning to power with an absolute majority in the state assembly. The BJP has set a target of winning at least 150 out of 224 seats in the Karnataka Assembly.  52 new candidates were given tickets in the first list, while the list includes 32 candidates from Other Backward Classes, 30 from Scheduled Castes and 16 from Scheduled Tribes. The process of filing nominations for the assembly elections in the state will begin from April 13 and continue till April 20. Voting is to be held in the state on May 10 next month.

No comments:

Post a Comment