25 Nov 2023

Rajasthan Election 2023 Voting: Vasundhara Raje, Sachin Pilot said this after casting vote

After casting her vote in the Rajasthan Assembly elections, Vasundhara Raje, the former Chief Minister of Rajasthan and BJP's National Vice President, encouraged all voters, especially the first time voters, to participate actively. Raje, who is contesting from the Jhalrapatan constituency, emphasized the importance of voting.

CP Joshi, the State BJP President and MP, described the elections as a significant festival of democracy and urged voters to use their vote as a symbol of truth, justice, and good governance. The Chief Electoral Officer of Rajasthan, Praveen Gupta, highlighted the enthusiasm among voters, with around 3 lakh people engaged in the polling process and 1.73 lakh policemen contributing to the effort.

Pilot expressed confidence in breaking the tradition

Meanwhile, Sachin Pilot, former Deputy CM and Congress leader, expressed confidence in breaking the tradition of changing power every five years in Rajasthan. He claimed that the people of Rajasthan desire a Congress Party government and predicted a higher number of seats for Congress compared to the 2018 elections. Pilot also criticized the BJP during his statement.

In Tonk, where a significant Muslim population resides, Sachin Pilot faces BJP's Ajit Singh Mehta. This marks the second assembly election for Pilot, who previously won Lok Sabha polls from Dausa and Ajmer.

The polling began for 199 out of 200 assembly seats in Rajasthan, with the Bharatiya Janata Party striving to wrest power from the Congress. Union Minister of State Kailash Chaudhary was among the early voters. The election in Karanpur seat was postponed due to the unfortunate demise of Congress candidate Gurmeet Singh Koonar.

With key figures like Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, former CM Vasundhara Raje, and former Deputy CM Sachin Pilot in the fray, the state witnessed over 1.70 lakh security personnel deployed. The election results are expected to be declared on December 3. 

Gehlot who is in his third term as chief minister is contesting from Sardarpura, a seat he has been representing since 1998. The chief minister is up against BJP's Mahendra Singh Rathore, former chairman of the Jodhpur Development Authority. 

Beniwal could be a concern for both BJP and Congress

Jat leader Hanuman Beniwal, who founded the Rastriya Loktantrik Party, could be a concern for both the BJP and Congress in Khinvsar. Several leaders of the BJP and Congress have rebelled against their parties after being denied a ticket. 

Prominent BJP rebels include former assembly speaker Kailash Meghwal, Chandrabhan Akya from Chittorgarh and former transport minister Yunus Khan from Didwana. In Congress, main rebel candidates include Joharilal Meena from Rajgarh-Laxmangarh, Gopal Baheti in Pushkar, Habiburrahman from Nagaur, Virendra Beniwal in Lunkaransar, Khiladi Lal Bairwa in Baseri, and Dr. Param Navdeep Singh in Sangaria. 

The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen and the Aam Aadmi Party are also contesting the assembly polls in the state.

No comments:

Post a Comment