11 Dec 2023

Madhya Pradesh: Observers reach BJP office in Bhopal, all 163 MLAs join including Shivraj, Prahlad Patel, VD Sharma

All three appointed observers have arrived at the BJP office in Bhopal for the crucial task of selecting the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. Joining them are a total of 163 MLAs, including prominent figures such as Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Prahlad Patel, and BJP state president VD Sharma. 

The legislative party meeting is scheduled to commence shortly within the BJP office, where the registration of all MLAs is currently underway. The three observers are expected to initiate discussions with each MLA in a one-on-one format.

The CM of Madhya Pradesh will be elected through a polling process, and the observers will engage in individual consultations with all MLAs to formulate a panel of names. It is anticipated that the observers will promptly communicate the MLAs' preferences to the BJP high command and announce the chosen CM in accordance with their instructions. However, the possibility exists that if a consensus is not achieved during the opinion poll with the MLAs, the resolution of this matter may extend into the following day.

The outcome of the legislative party meeting will ultimately determine the course of events. Noteworthy contenders in the race for the CM position include Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Jyotiraditya Scindia, and Prahlad Patel, alongside experienced figures like Kailash Vijayvargiya, VD Sharma, Gopal Bhargava, and Narendra Singh Tomar.

In Madhya Pradesh, it is conceivable for two deputy CMs to be appointed alongside the CM. Considering the social dynamics of the state, the OBC class holds the largest numerical representation, followed by the influential tribal class, Dalits, and upper caste communities. 

Given the multitude of contenders within the BJP and emerging factions, the party is adopting a strategy to appoint one CM and two Deputy CMs, potentially aiming to satisfy diverse sections and factions in Madhya Pradesh as well.

No comments:

Post a Comment