5 Dec 2023

Question floating in political corridors…who will become CM of Chhattisgarh? These five names are in race

The question of who will be the CM of Chhattisgarh is being heard in the corridors of BJP in the state. In Chhattisgarh Assembly elections, BJP has won 54 seats with huge majority. The ruling Congress was reduced to 35 seats. 

Now the debate has started in Chhattisgarh about who will become the Chief Minister? Will BJP make Dr. Raman Singh, who led the 15-year-long government in Chhattisgarh from 2003 to 2018, the Chief Minister. Or will it bet on a new face?

BJP contested elections under collective leadership

This time, instead of declaring a candidate for the post of Chief Minister before the assembly elections, BJP had contested the elections under collective leadership by putting forward the face of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The formula of contesting elections under collective leadership bore fruit. Now if Raman Singh does not become the Chief Minister, then whom will BJP put forward to take charge of the government in Chhattisgarh?

Arun Sao among leading contenders for CM post

Arun Sao, 54, is among the leading contenders for Chhattisgarh’s CM post. Sao started his political career as a volunteer for Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP). He has served as the BJP’s district president, state co-secretary, and ABVP’s National Working Committee member. Sao rose through the ranks after serving as a booth-level worker.

In Chhattisgarh, names of many leaders from BJP state president Arun Sao and MP Saroj Pandey to Lata Usendi are floating in the air for the post of CM. There was BJP government in Chhattisgarh for 15 years from 2003 to 2018. Where Dr. Raman Singh held the post of Chief Minister for 15 years.

However, this time BJP played a big gamble and did not declare any leader of the state as a contender for the post of Chief Minister. Instead, the party had entered the election campaign putting the face of PM Narendra Modi forward. This game plan of BJP proved successful and the party has returned to power in Chhattisgarh after 5 years. That too with a huge majority.


Age an obstacle in Raman's path

Dr. Raman Singh had contested the election from his traditional seat and was successful in winning the election, but Raman Singh is also not able to openly present his claim for the post of CM. On Sunday, as soon as the party was seen moving ahead on 50 seats, former CM Raman Singh not only gave the credit for the victory to PM Modi, he also indirectly staked claim for the post of CM by linking his tenure of last 15 years.

Dr. Raman Singh is among the most senior leaders of BJP. But his age seems to be a hindrance in his path of becoming the CM. Raman is 71 years old. Therefore BJP is eyeing a future leader. BJP played the OBC bet against Bhupesh Baghel and handed over the command of the party organization to Arun Sao. Arun Sao is an MP and BJP also made him contest the assembly elections. So he is also being considered in the race for CM.

BJP did not declare the CM face in 2003

In fact, even in the 2003 elections, BJP did not declare the CM face. However, after winning the elections, the responsibility of the post of Chief Minister was handed over to the then State President Raman Singh. This is the reason why if BJP forms the government, then State President Arun Sao's claim on the post of Chief Minister is considered strong.

Brijmohan Aggarwal also among the contenders

The name of former minister Brijmohan Aggarwal also appears among thecontenders for the post of Chief Minister. Aggarwal has been elected MLA seven times from Raipur South Assembly seat of the state. This time he won the election for the eighth time.

Aggarwal has also been a minister in the government of Dr. Raman Singh. Brijmohan Aggarwal's name is included among the simple leaders with a clean image, but he does not fit into the political equation of Chhattisgarh. 

Many other leaders also in race

Besides, MP Saroj Pandey is also considered to be in the race for the post of Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh. Saroj Pandey is the national vice president of BJP and Rajya Sabha MP. On the other hand, the names of Vijay Baghel and Renuka Singh, who contested the elections from Patan against Bhupesh Baghel, were also considered among the contenders for the post of CM, although Vijay Baghel lost the election.

No comments:

Post a Comment