2 Mar 2024

BJP Releases First List for Lok Sabha Elections- 2024 : PM Modi and 34 Ministers Among 195 Candidates; Scindia and Shivraj Will Contest From These Seats

In preparation for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections-2024, the BJP has unveiled its initial list of 195 candidates, showcasing a strategic move to secure an early advantage in the race to achieve their target of winning 370 seats. The list features prominent figures, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, seeking re-election from Varanasi for the third time, and Home Minister Amit Shah, contesting again from Gandhinagar in Gujarat.

Ex-CM of MP Shivraj Singh Chouhan will contest from Vidisha and Jyotiraditya Scindia from Guna.

Key Highlights

Top Contenders: Defence Minister Rajnath Singh will vie for the Lucknow seat, while Smriti Irani, who secured a surprise victory against Rahul Gandhi in 2019, will contest from Amethi.

Diverse Representation: The list comprises 34 ministers, two former chief ministers, 28 women, 47 leaders below 50 years, and 57 members from the OBC community.

Geographical Distribution: Uttar Pradesh leads with 51 candidates, followed by West Bengal with 20 and Delhi with five. Notable candidates for Delhi include Praveen Khandelwal, Manoj Tiwari, and Bansuri Swaraj, daughter of late Sushma Swaraj.

Noteworthy Changes: Ramesh Bidhuri, who was at the centre of a huge controversy following his alleged communal remarks against BSP lawmaker Danish Ali in the Lok Sabha last year, has not been repeated from the South Delhi seat. The seat will now be fought by Ramvir Singh Bidhuri, the leader of the opposition in the Delhi Assembly. Health Minister Mansukh Mandaviya shifts from Rajya Sabha to contest from Porbandar, Gujarat.

Interesting Battles: Rajya Sabha member and minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar will contest against Shashi Tharoor in Thiruvananthapuram. Jyotiraditya Scindia moves to Guna, Madhya Pradesh, while Bhupender Yadav and Kiren Rijiju are fielded from Alwar and Arunachal West, respectively.

Controversial Inclusions: Minister of State for Home Ajay Mishra Teni, embroiled in the farmers' protest controversy, will contest from Kheri despite his son's alleged involvement in a fatal incident.

Leadership Shifts: Shivraj Singh Chouhan, not appointed as the Madhya Pradesh chief minister, enters the national scene, contesting from Vidisha. Controversial MP Pragya Singh Thakur is replaced by Alok Sharma in Bhopal.

Star Candidates: Hema Malini seeks re-election from Mathura, and former Tripura chief minister Biplab Deb is named as the candidate for Tripura West.

As the BJP unveils its initial list, the political landscape braces itself for the unfolding dynamics and battles leading up to the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

No comments:

Post a Comment